We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Light Lunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Basil's Restaurant & Tapas Bar

Basil's Restaurant & Tapas Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Basil's Restaurant & Tapas Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #970 of 3,800 Restaurants in Atlanta
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pharr Road and Grandview Avenue
Transit: Marta
Description: At Basil's Restaurant & Tapas Bar, we serve gorgeous food that tastes even better in a quaint, romantic setting. Join us for tapas, a full meal, brunch, or a drink soon! We offer an eclectic Mediterranean-inspired menu with many of our dishes featuring a fun Southern twist! Serving everything from Spanish paella to Italian shrimp, an incredible lamb chop, to gorgeous grilled salmon over cheese grits - there's bound to be something to satisfy your taste. Our tapas menu is perfect for sharing with a table of friends, with a first date, or with your love of thirty years. Enjoy our quaint, romantically designed restaurant that is perfect for a date night or a great brunch on the best deck in Atlanta! We are proud to offer such an unique atmosphere for local diners. We also feature a full bar, an extensive wine list, delectable desserts, and brunch on the weekends. Try a Greek omelette or a fun twist on eggs Benedict. With such an amazing deck, you'll want to relax and enjoy the sunshine. If you love our atmosphere, consider renting out the restaurant (inside, outside, or both) for a private engagement! Ask for more details today.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Light Lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place with a friendly atmosphere, a charming outdoor deck and antique decor. The food is light and fresh. We enjoyed the mushroom flatbread pizza as an appetizer. I had the tasty scallops and arugula special and my friend feasted on the perfectly rendered grouper and couscous. Definitely recommend you try this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ckbirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Relaxed and Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Basil's is located on a quiet side street in Buckhead and has a laid back feel to it. The restaurant has an outside deck on the front, part covered and part uncovered. The inside can get loud and lacks the ambiance of the deck. We ate on the deck and, as it has been a cool spring, they put the overhead gas heater on for our table. Our waiter was very attentive. We did not lack for service. They were willing to provide something simple (plain salmon) for one of our guests, who did not want to venture forth with the steelhead salmon, which was very good. The best entree at our table was the Greek shrimp, served over a moist bed of rice with olives and pistacios. They have a nice selection of wine with an Italian pinot grigio going for $34. Parking is available in the rear if the street parking is full.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Best when dining outside but deck, tables uneven. Live music can get loud in some indoor areas which lack ambiance. Mediterrean tappas are good as are the scallops. Go across the street to Anis for the better value of food and atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AwesomeladyUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I went to Basil's for my birthday. Had never been and were looking for some good Mediterranean food. What a delight. The cold plate appetizer was as good as anything we have ever had overseas. Most American restaurants overdo garlic and food loses its natural flavor. Basil's let the true taste of the food (chick peas, eggplant or whatever) shine through. We shared a hot plate appetizer and Mediterranean Chicken as our entrees. Delicious. The meat was tender and moist, not dried out. The rice was fragrant and fluffy. Prices were very very reasonable! They have a very extensive wine list. The restaurant is in a converted home, very cozy and romantic. The other diners appeared to be locals and/or long-time patrons. This is a hidden little gem and we will definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alysiaAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved the atmosphere, great for a special date, the decor is very warm, you feel like you are having dinner at the house of a good friend! Food and service were wonderful. I had the shrimp paella very well seasoned. The staff suggested wonderful cocktails and appetizers. Just make sure you know how to get there, our mapquest sent us around the world, and parking can be a little crowded. This is a very interesting neighborhood in Buckhead... I'll go back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathyd329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil's Restaurant & Tapas Bar also viewed

 

Been to Basil's Restaurant & Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing