We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Chops Lobster Bar

Chops Lobster Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Chops Lobster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 3,948 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $200
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: An Atlanta icon known for its exceptional food and service, Chops consistently ranks as one of the top ten steakhouses in the country. Exquisite seafood flown in fresh daily and the very best USDA prime aged beef are served with style in the warm ambiance of the dark wood dining room. Whether you’re dining for business or pleasure, a meal at Chops is sure to make a lasting impression.
Birmingham AL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous service and top notch drinks!! We ordered lobster, oysters, steak, lobster Mac and cheese...all we fabulous! Will definitely come back next time we are in Atlanta. And, will be staying at the St. Regis to just walk on over! Great experience!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank micdee557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    144
    43
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
298 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Terrific Steak”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

It is located next to the St Regis. We had a reservation and were seated promptly! The atmosphere is definitely not romantic, and it is very loud, but wonderful for a group. The tables and booths are very close together. However, the food makes this worth visiting! The lobster appetizer was very good, but small. It was not meant for sharing really. The crab appetizer was delicious, and large enough to share. The porterhouse steak was great and could be shared. They will happily slice it up for you if you share it. The filet was also good. They were all cooked to perfection. The green beans were good, but the sweet potatoes were not as good as their mashed potatoes. The service was very good as well. It is not inexpensive, but the quality of their food makes it worthwhile.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flalove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Poor taste with customer service skills from mgmt BUT still that good”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We found this because of walking into the area and looking for top rated places and it only disappointed in one area. Let me just say that the bar tender (tall blonde female) was fantastic as well as food, menu and drinks! It is VERY old school boys club like so if you can roll with that- then try it.
We walked in (twice in one afternoon btw) very early to the bar area only upstairs before they officially serve dinner which worked out great for what we wanted. Good drinks and a few apps. We were told the St Regis bar next door was great as well so we jumped over there after we had some of the best lobster bisque I've ever had and wonderful lump crab meat. The bar tender sold me on their signature white chocolate banana
cream pie so I knew we would walk back over to the bar area for that! We did and still very early right after HH next door. We walked in upstairs but only interested in the bar area we walked back to our "old seats". As we sat down at the bar with many other work casual clothes and bad golf shirts a mgr ( or appeared to be) walked over to us to welcome us back so I thought but told my husband they required all hat removals - he wears a nice Goorin Bros paper boy, very stylish and not obnoxious in any way, style hate.
I get that we all have our policies but there is nothing more off-putting than having policy quoted as a greeter especially in a informal bar area when we had already been there two hours earlier and we were about to give them MORE of our money.
Go and try it but just don't wear a hat of any kind - bad golf shirts are acceptable!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SAWtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a delightful Birthday Celebration for our Son at Chops on March 30, 2013. We could not have been more pleased with our service as well as our dinner. Most of us had the bone in ribeye and they were tender and done to perfection. This is an excellent restaurant to celebrate a special occasion.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinings, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of our favorites.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Prime steaks, fried lobster tails, and great service. We go here at least once a year for a special occasion and it never disappoints. Fantastic service. A little pricey but worth every penny.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougt1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chops Lobster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing