We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi with passion”
Review of Taka Sushi Cafe - MOVED

Taka Sushi Cafe
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Buckhead
Cross street: Grandview Ave.
Altamont, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sushi with passion”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The sign out front says sushi and passion. It shows in the preparation of the rolls. The rolls are prepared with an elegant simplicity. The staff were very knowledgeable about the menu items as well as which ingredients were especially fresh that day. Most of the rolls were reasonable priced but there were a few exceptions. The "dream team," for example, seems over-priced compared to similar rolls on the menu. Don't miss the green tea and red bean ice cream served with the red bean pound cake!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ks_doc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    9
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orebro, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Expensive - but worth it!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I don't even like to think about how much money my friend has spent on me here -- but she knows her sushi like no one else and she won't eat sushi anywhere else in Atlanta. Taka is obviously passionate about his sushi - he delivers in a style found nowhere else in Atlanta.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lauree T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Buckheads best sushi”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I am more of a sashimi fan, and the fish here is exceptionally fresh and tasty. I like to let Taka (the owner and chef) decide what to serve, and I simply tell him when I have had enough. A small restaurant, with an outdoor patio. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harry v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not your standard sushi offering”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is one of my favorite places to grab dinner. The fish is always excellent, and there are lots of unique and interesting menu items.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kilroyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, MI
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Sushi, ever!”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I'm not a huge fan of sushi and sashimi but this place is over the top! Chef Taka is a master. I've never been so impressed with quality of food, service, ambiance, and taste. The place is on the small side but it makes up for it in every other way. I highly recommend checking this place out!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing