We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“LaGrotta - Always A Fine Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Grotta Ristorante Italiano

La Grotta Ristorante Italiano
Reserve with OpenTable
La Grotta Ristorante Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 3,800 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: West Wesley
Transit: Lakeview Drive and Peachtree Road
Description: La Grotta has been an Atlanta tradition since 1978 and offers fine dining in an intimate atmosphere overlooking a beautiful garden in the heart of Buckhead.As one of the top restaurants in Buckhead, La Grotta has been voted the Best Italian Restaurant by Atlanta Magazine for 16 years in a row, the AAA Four Diamond Award recipient for 15 years and long time winner of the Di Rona Award.Enjoy traditional Northern Italian appetizers like the Vitello Tonnato to fresh homemade pastas like Goat Cheese Stuffed Ravioli. Other Menus items feature Grilled Veal Chop, Roasted Venison Chops and Filet Mignon with Melted Gorgonzola.Guests will also find an extensive wine list with Italian and New World wines (over 400 different labels).
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“LaGrotta - Always A Fine Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Always a good choice when looking for Italian in Atlanta, GA. This place has old school service with a smile. The staff moves quick and aims to please and it shows. I have been to this location probably 20 times in my life and have never had a bad meal. Pasta to Veal, La Grotta is always consistent. I look forward to returning this month to celebrate a birthday.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bluehorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    38
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So Romantic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is the place to hide out with your husband / wife for a fun date. The servers have worked their forever, and the service is great! It is so romantic and secluded that it's like you are out of the big city. The food is excellent! Well worth the visit!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best Italian Restaurant in Atlanta.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This restaurant is amazing. I have been here more than a dozen times and have never had a bad meal or service, a rare find. This was a special occasion and did not disappoint.
It is located on the terrace level of a low rise building. It has a cozy bar and an incredible patio with lush trees, market umbrellas in 3 colors, a lovely burbling fountain and lights strung to enhance the ambiance.

We were permitted to bring a special Champagne with a corkage but it was waved by the manager due to the special occasion and we had 2 more bottles.

Every appetizer, salad, sorbet after the salad, main course, dessert and Limoncello was flawless.

The service was prefect, welcoming, friendly and professional. You can tell that the staff enjoys their profession. The chef came to the table and was a lovely way to cap the evening.

This restaurant is not to be missed for the service, patio and amazing cuisine!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELARBITER14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Where locals go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

How often have you asked "where do locals celebrate a special occasion ".
We found it at La Grotta. As previous travelers have stated it is in a residential condominium building. Only a street sign to direct you to one of the finest Italian Restaurants anywhere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
293 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We decided to come to Atlanta for an Anniversary weekend getaway. We celebrated at La Grotta last night after numerous recommendations. First, the building is a rundown condo. Don't be scared away...just valet your car out front. Go down the elevator to the basement. This restaurant is old school but in a great way. It's dated, but they treat you like family and the service was wonderful! We had a reservation and had a lovely booth. We're vegetarians and they took great care of us. We had prosecco, wine, salads, an appetizer, shared an entree, and a dessert....all were delicious! I will definitely return next time we're in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JChaff12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grotta Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to La Grotta Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing