We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down and Dirty”
Review of El Azteca

El Azteca
Ranked #2,326 of 3,948 Restaurants in Atlanta
Cuisines: Mexican
Neighborhood: Poncey-Highland
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Poncey-Highland
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Down and Dirty”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Unclean and the food preparation and taste left a lot to desire..Go somewhere else for Mexican than this joint..

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank sivamintn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    13
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the Place to Host a Large Group”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Been to several El Azteca's but won't go back to this one. Service was slack and the kitchen was inconsistent. The only good thing was the bottled Michelob Ultra.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SquareKnot73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This time was terrible”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Im unhappy to write that I will no longer return to El Azteca. We had been going there at least 2 times a month. This last time was a Friday and they couldnt handle the rush. We were seated at a terrible table and surounded by kids blowing horns. When I asked the manager to move us or ask the tables to have their children stop blowing the horns they couldnt accomodate. We decided to leave and rather than comp us for our half eaten appetizer and barely touched drinks, they made us stand there and wait to pay for that. I wouldve came back and gave it another try but the manager (or lack there of) offered no solution and made us pay. I wont return. We went to Uncle Julios 2 blocks up, had a fantastic meal, friendly staff and a manager who was truly concerned with his restaurant. You should take a trip up the road to see how to run a restaurant when it gets busy...

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wrong Order- Again!”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We have gotten take-out from here a few times. The last two out of three times the food was not what we ordered. The food itself is good, but why can't they get a simple order right?
Will not go back as there are too many other better options close by.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachLvr646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Place!!!! Good Food!! Strong drinks!!!”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The moment you sit down, there is fresh chips and salsa in front of you, the drinks are strong- margaritas very good- and the service is friendly! We had very little wait time for any of our order and the staff was extremely friendly. You get a lot of food and the qualitiy is muy bueno!!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing