We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Surprisingly excellent Italian food in non-Italian city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Tavola

La Tavola
Reserve with OpenTable
La Tavola is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 3,809 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N. Highland Avenue
Description: La Tavola is a classic, cozy Italian trattoria located in Atlanta's famous Virginia Highland neighborhood featuring exposed brick, dark wood floors, rustic colors and an open exhibition kitchen. The restaurant features an extensive wine list, classic dishes made from the finest traditional ingredients and approachable, friendly service. Perfect for family gatherings, romantic dinners or just a quick, yet satisfying, bite at the bar, here you will always feel welcomed and at home around our table.
Arlington, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Surprisingly excellent Italian food in non-Italian city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My friend obviously wanted to impress me on my first visit to his city, with the choice of La Tavola. Everything about the meal was excellent, which is a lot for a Bostonian to say about Italian food in Atlanta. The standout was a special, and combined pasta with pork, but can't remember what it was called. Service was all you could hope for, attentive but not intrusive. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    67
    9
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

La Tavola is a perfect neighborhood restaurant. The atmosphere is cozy yet sophisticated. Order the special- it never disappoints! I prefer the inside to the outdoor seating, since the outdoor seating is shared with the restaurant next door.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reginaeileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great atmosphere,service and food. It gives you an old Italian feeling. The veal is excellent. The Staffed mushrooms are out of this world. Make reservation and go early.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

A quaint Italian restaurant in Virginia Highlands. Dinner was delicious and prepared to perfection. We ate outside which made for a perfect evening. I would recommend reservations as this is a popular dining locale.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunsettravels5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Atlanta Italian Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Went to dinner here with family who lives locally. They say this is one of their top 3 in Atlanta. I would have to agree. Sat on their balcony on a warm summer night, which was just a wonderful, intimate experience. The food and wine were excellent. We started with the calamari and Salumi board antipasti, both excellent. My wife had the mushroom ragu and I had their ravioli special, again excellently prepared and awfully tasty. Service was outstanding as well. The server was pleasant and funny.

The atmosphere and food combine to create an excellent dining experience. If you are in the area, I would HIGHLY, HIGHLY recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ky_Shamrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tavola also viewed

 

Been to La Tavola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing