We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Rock n' Roll bar”
Review of The Vortex

The Vortex
Ranked #13 of 3,957 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Little Five Points
Porvoo, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Rock n' Roll bar”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place is pure rock and roll bar. Don't expect quite and romantic dinner or stuff like that.
This is the place where you go to eat good food, drink beer, listen to rock music and hang out with friends.
You can smoke inside which is awesome. If you don't smoke and/or it bothers you just avoid it.

Atmosphere is simply great.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitenekke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    260
    53
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Politically incorrect burgers and beer”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

One of the best places to eat hamburgers and drink beer. Excellent atmosphere and service, fun and delicious.

Weird decorations with motorcycles, sculls and many other rare things. I recommend the draf beers and the "bacon cheeseburger". If you are hard to fill, try the "double by pass" (I passed on that one).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A_Servin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I did not see god...”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We saw this restaurant on the Food Channel a while back and had a few locals recommend their burgers. Agreed - they are good burgers, but at best, our three burgers were average. Despite the claim that "you'll see God," eating the blue cheese, mushroom burger, it was not at all over-the-top tasty (more blue cheese sauce does not make a burger better!). The tables were a bit too close and it was quite loud (and this was the corporate-American crowd, not students) for an early dinner. We will bypass this place next time we are in town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2DELadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi Gulf Coast, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hype”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I thought this place was pretty overhyped. The tea was awful. The "best hamburger on earth" was just an average burger. $30 bucks for hamburgers and drinks. It is what it is. waitress was friendly and cocky which was expected. we could have used a little more service though. Had the hamburgers actually been fantastic I would have overlooked it, but combined with the lack of service, average food, and large bill, I have to give this place 3 stars. Wouldn't come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tosha25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stopped here on our last trip. This was close by and we were hungry enough to just go with it. The service was good, but the prices were higher than what they should be. $11 for a veggie burger with cheese? Really? It was a good veggie burger, but I've had much better for less. The boyfriend got a Nacho burger that was the day's special. It did look good, but it was lacking in the flavor department. The "guacamole" topping was just mashed up avocado and tomato bits. He said the burger was slightly overcooked. The burgers were pretty big, but I think $30 for two burgers and one drink is a bit much. The meal wasn't horrible, but I don't think we'll be back. There's too many delicious options in Atlanta to just settle for the locations with a lot of hype.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lualauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Vortex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing