We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for a fine meal in Atlanta”
Review of Babette's Cafe

Babette's Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Babette's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 3,957 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: European, French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: East Freedom Parkway
Description: "The secret to beautiful food is using the ingredients in their most natural form." At Chef/Owner Marla Adams'Atlanta Restaurant, and with Chef Justin Kurtz now at the helm, life imitates art in a remodeled 1916 bungalow, nestled between the historic Inman Park and Poncey-Highland neighborhoods. You'll feel like a foreign film star as Babette's Cafe brilliantly brings Isak Dinesen's story of food, grace and community to vivid and delicious life in a rustic, European setting. For twenty-four years, Babette's Cafe has offered the flavor of stepping into a restaurant that is tucked into the French Countryside, making diners forget that they are just minutes away from downtown Atlanta.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best value for a fine meal in Atlanta”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

As always a fantastic and memorable meal. We were celebrating Mom's birthday so it was a larger group of people which gave us the opportunity to sample quite a bit of the menu. Some of the most memorable dishes include the lamb, paella, bronzino and beef bourguignon. For starters the mussels and piroshkis were especially nice.

Really if you have never eaten at Babette's you must give it a try. Given the quality of food and service for the price you cannot find a better value in town. The price fixe is especially good value. Also don't forget about Sunday Brunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liketotravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    48
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“When Away I Miss this Place!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Delicious meal like every one I have had before. Great wait staff that shares and always add suggestions to make the meal perfect. No dessert this time but wish I had room for it. Had the ravioli appetizer, salad with asiago and lemon, followed by the halibut entree. First time for the Lillette cocktail, was delicious! Wish Babette's was in my city! Makes me feel at home in Atlanta when I visit. So many restaurants in Atlanta to choose from but when passing through Babette's is always top of my list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2honest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
“Comfortable warm and friendly.”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I love Babette's because it has no glitz nor is it an overly designed space. It is all about the food service, and customer comfort . Good cocktails , flavorful and well prepared artichokes, arugula salad and Bronzinol seasoned and perfectly cooked. Marla was the consummate host. Lovely night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

There were nine of us...three generations. It was a pretty upscale place but they were very nice to the three kids, ages 5-13. That always impresses. They made adjustments even to the kid's menu for the five year old. We had a lovely seat on the porch; it was a warm day but early evening with the overhead fan was very nice. I think it gets a 26 on Zagat and deserves it. We had a wide variety of dishes from filet to vegetarian to pasta. Everything was very good. Also a nice affordable wine list.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Groveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorsville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Brunch”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We made reservations, but arrived 30 minutes early. We were seated immediately. The service was quick and attentive. My husband ordered eggs benedict that was out of this world. I ordered an omelet with spinach and feta. I highly recommend a 1/2 bread basket which had a scone and wonderful muffins.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank littlemama2sophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marla A, Owner at Babette's Cafe, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice notes. Wonderful to have you join us. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babette's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Babette's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing