We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Indian food!”

Moon Indian Cuisine
Ranked #945 of 3,947 Restaurants in Atlanta
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good Indian food!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Moon is in our neighborhood, and we have driven past it hundreds of times without any interest in stopping. I guess we assumed that a tiny restaurant in a rather unexciting strip of eateries could not possibly produce outstanding Indian food. How wrong we were!!!!! From the excellent Naan to the wonderful Chicken Saag with spinach and rich, spicy Veggie Marsala, we had a delightful meal. The owner came over to talk with us on several occasions to be certain all was well, and it is clear that he is very proud of and committed to his restaurant and those who dine there. Even the Pinot Grigio from an Italian boutique winery was very, very good (and I drink a lot of wines). We shall frequent this little gem regularly and are so appreciative for its presence in our neighborhood.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Atlanta_GeorgiaRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Super food, super friendly”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We try to have Indian food when we travel, and it's always a gamble. This gamble paid off with a terrific dinner. We were with friends who had never had Indian food before plus us, and we all really liked it. The service was wonderful, they took good care of us and extra care of the kids. The medium spice was just spicy enough. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanTravells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Marsala”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went on a whim and a referral by ScoutMob! An excellent experience - good service - excellent food. try the Bhindi Marsala. The Naan is to die for. A little older - but a nice outdoor patio with an awning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JGS1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food! Great owner!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Moon Indian Cuisine is one of the best Indian restaurants in Atlanta. I've visited this restaurant perhaps a dozen times with friends and am delighted by the quality of the food each time I return.

My favorite entrees include Chicken Madras and Lamb Vindaloo--both are excellent--but honestly I have never had a bad dish here. Just tried the Tandoori Mixed Grill and the Chicken Masala last night and have nothing but good things to say about them, as well. Also noteworthy are the Vegetable Samosas, which have an excellent taste and flavor, and are always cooked correctly (i.e. not greasy).

The new owner, Surya (who has owned the restaurant for 10 months or so), is very personable and is always at the restaurant. He and the waiters work hard and seem to take great pride in making this "hole-in-the-wall" a comfortable and enjoyable place to eat.

They do dine-in, carry-out, and delivery (the latter over a limited area), and have beer and wine available.

I'll be back soon!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noskaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing food, quick service”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

While this was originally called "Royal of India", the management was supposedly changed in early 2012.
I have been there several times since then and the quality of food, service and humble attitude has been consistent.
Along with the service and prices, a restaurant MUST maintain consistent FOOD - Taste/Quality/Authenticity - "Moon India Cuisine" outshines itself every single time.
If you are in the mood for some authentic North Indian Food, I would highly recommend this place.
The place may look small, but the food is excellent - have taken several friends to this place since then and all have had the same high praise.

Keep up the good work..

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siddharth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Moon Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing