We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh Little Darling, Stir it Up” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stir it UP - CLOSED

Stir it UP
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Florence, AL
Level Contributor
199 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Oh Little Darling, Stir it Up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Can't say enough nice things about this place. The decor is lovely and comfortable. The service is very friendly. The food, oh darling, the food. I had the Jerk Tofu with Yucca Fries (which came with a tangy sauce on the side). I fear I could become addicted. My partner has the same fear over the jerk Chicken and peas and rice. He says he craves it now. I have to laugh because the gentleman who was seated acorss from us ordered that same dish like he'd come to satisfy a deep need. Great portion sizes and an incredible value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Americana29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    4
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

While visiting with a friend, he just had to take me to HIS favorite eatery, Stir It Up!
I loved the atmosphere, the food was hot & spicy & my server was delightful, Hi Chris:)
The decor was lovely and I see why it is my friend's favorite place. I will return!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cagedbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow! Great Jamaican restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is THE Best Jamaican restaurant I have ever experienced. It is located in Little 5 Points which is a cool place in and of itself. The decor is quite funky but very tasteful with Jamaican art scattered around. I dined with my wife and college age daughters(one is a very picky eater). The food was just incredible. The server recommended a jerk spring roll which was to die for, very tasty including a nice mildly sweet, mildly spicy dipping sauce. Our entrees included curry chicken, jerk chicken and jerk shrimp. Sides included rice and peas or jasmin rice, plaintain(cooked perfectly) and veggies. Every dish was amazing but I have to say that the jerk chicken was unbelieveable-you could tell that it was cooked on the grill and the spice was just perfect not too spicy but just spicy enough. And to drink, of course we had Ting. We enjoyed the food so much that we went back for lunch the next day. And yes, the ox-tails were also amazing on Day 2. Folks, try this place. I do not think you will be disappointed. By the way, if you want alcohol, bring your own beer and wine. Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VonWash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good pre-concert meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We grabbed a quick bite before heading to variety playhouse. Well, not exactly quick. Food took almost thirty five minutes, BUT when it arrived we didn't mind a bit. I got jerk tofu and yuca fries, boyfriend got curried goat with rice and peas. Good portions and great flavor. Boyfriend said the goat was slightly more bones than meat, but he still felt full. My jerk tofu and yuca fries couldn't have been better. I wasn't crazy about the dipping sauce, but there was plenty of jerk sauce to use as a substitute. I had a bite of the rice and peas and that was also tasty. There's not adult beverages, but you can BYOB. The ambiance is great. Dimly light and rustic. They have hooka behind the counter, but I don't know that they're there for patron use. I would've definitely loved to use one post meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lualauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“WOW! What a treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Friendly, unpretentious, hip and the food is so really good! Having just returned to California from a visit to Atlanta, I am kicking myself for not getting a bag of take-out to munch on later...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveloften617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stir it UP also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing