We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good freebie” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Georgia State Capitol

Georgia State Capitol
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Atlanta's Superhero Movie Location Tour
Ranked #46 of 281 things to do in Atlanta
Attraction details
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good freebie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

State capitols are always a good freebie for some fun learning .. and this is a bonus with a lot of historical cases on the fourth floor.. you could spend a day or just an hour or two there..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JBF1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    75
    39
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Meh...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This was our 24th capitol to visit, and I have to say it was one of my least favorite. Difficult to get to in downtown, parked in garage ($3 for an hour, not bad), no "wow" picture ops from a couple blocks away (buildings in the way), peeling paint inside dome, Senate and HOR not labeled, info desk closed before 4:30, no gift shop (we buy Christmas ornaments at each capitol), and a secretary unwilling to help with a question. Building kinda dirty. There was one friendly worker who felt bad for us and gave us a trinket made by an inmate. Thank you! But overall, disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank okietravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Texas
Level Contributor
361 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“Nice Friendly Employees - OK Capitol Building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

After passing through security (bring photo ID - copy of my passport was acceptable), I was given a brochure of the Capitol since I missed the morning free guided tour. Average Capitol building, probably since I'm biased on the Texas Capitol which holds tours all day long and no gift shop for buying trinkets.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrockDaBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
1,006 reviews
221 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
“So Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I went with some friends of mine, and we really enjoyed our time here. Got to see where they make the laws, and we got to sit at the governor's desk. Overall, we had a great time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caleb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
1,011 reviews
602 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“beuatiful!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

good to see especially if you can take the Capitol tour. Close to downtown so you will not have to go out way if the area.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank lalocadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Georgia State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing