We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disorganized, overpriced, and poor service.”

LEGOLAND Discovery Center
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$18.98*
and up
LEGOLAND® Discovery Center Atlanta
Ranked #47 of 292 things to do in Atlanta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: LEGOLAND® Discovery Center Atlanta offers a fun, highly interactive and educational 2-3 hour indoor experience, ideal for families with children 3-10 years old. Based on the ever-popular LEGO® brick, LEGOLAND Discovery Centers provide a range of interactive play areas, including 4D cinema; master classes from the LEGO Master Model Builder; exciting LEGO rides, such as an interactive and immersive ride called Kingdom Quest; special party rooms for birthdays and other celebrations; as well as the popular MINILAND exhibit designed to reflect the iconic buildings and skyline of Atlanta.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

This place was beyond belief, high price legoland want a be. Employees are high school kids who could care less about anything. If you like wasting your hard earned dollars for a place that should cost $5 then by all means go right ahead,we did and will never return!

2  Thank Travis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, Manager at LEGOLAND Discovery Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Hi, thanks for taking time to let us know about your thoughts about the LEGOLAND Discovery Center. Discovery Centers are a different experience than our themeparks, we focus on the hands on educational component as well as provide a fun family outing at the same time. If you'd like to address any of your other comments with management please give us a call at 404-848-9252. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 767 of 786 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

We went to Legoland Discovery Center on the second weekend after the grand opening. It's in a mall, so the Discover Center is rather small. The had 2 rides, an area where they detail how Legos are made, a 4D theater, cafe, store, climbing area, and lego play area. Our boys- ages 3.5 & 5.5- had a good time on the two rides and enjoyed the play area and 4D movie. My oldest liked the lego play area where you could build a race car and race it on the ramp. Overall, we found it to be a little pricey for the size of the attraction. My 5.5 year old son would probably enjoy it once more and then be bored. It's definitely good for the 2-6 year old crowd. Buy tickets online and go early so you can enjoy the features before the crowds start.

1  Thank ang7633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, Manager at LEGOLAND Discovery Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Hi, thank you for taking time to let us know about your visit! LEGOLAND Discovery Center is a hands on experience that differs a bit from the theme park, but also provides a fun family outing! Through out the year we host various events and do different activities so please keep an eye out for more information about that. Also, we do encourage you to take advantage of online savings or the annual pass for your next visit. Thanks once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Oh, how I wish LEGOLAND had come to Atlanta about 15 years earlier! I visited LEGOLAND with my spouse and two (now grown) sons. We all enjoyed it. My favorite was the room with Atlanta buildings and landmarks constructed from LEGO. There are rooms in which aspiring builders can learn from LEGO experts, there is a (soft) LEGO play pit, a ride, a 4D film, and more. It is not inexpensive, but I would recommend it for LEGO enthusiasts of any age, especially kids.

1  Thank Recycool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, Manager at LEGOLAND Discovery Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Hi, thank you for your review of LEGOLAND Discovery Center. We're glad that you enjoyed your time here. We are extremely excited to be here in the mall. Phipps Plaza is a very family friendly environment, and there is also free parking here as well. Thanks once again for coming and we hope to see you again. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We went to Legoland knowing that it was not an indoor theme park. We had checked their website and went knowing exactly what to expect. So we weren't dissapointed in the sense of having higher expectations but yet after experiencing what we came knowing there was, we were left still waiting for the "wow" moment of this facility.

The facility is bright, clean and family oriented. The staff is friendly and at times I felt were really trying to create excitement with those in attendance. This brings me to the point that there is obviously something wrong when no one is overly excited and engaged with the employees or the 4D theater staff. As you exit and enter different Lego building and play areas, the staff is full of smiles in what appears to be an attempt to create a genuine excitement for being here. However, for us and all we observed, a great excitement and enthusiasm just wasn't to be found. It's not that no one was having fun, but there is something lacking in this facility.

The entrance is nice which leads you to a "Lego factory". From there you are led to Kingdom's Quest. The ride theming is excellent. The ride is an interactive ride in which riders sit in a chariot and shoot with laser guns at targets throughout. It is very well done and is definitely the highlight of the entire facility (which is also what the ride operators said). From there you go to Miniland which has been presented very well. Everything from the CNN center to Stone Mountain has been replicated. At this point, the customer is definitely in "what's next" mode because so far this place has been done very well. Unfortunately the "what's next" leads you to an open area where there is a ride, play structure and various centers to build Lego. There's also a 4D cinema in this area. This whole area is very condensed and I could not imagine being here on a prime day or time. It's at this point that we wanted to know, "what's next", but found out quickly that there isn't anything more. The grand entrance and excitement of the first ride and Miniland is basically it for excitement (except for the theatre). Keep in mind that in this very condensed and small area (considering the type of attraction this place is supposed to be), there is a "cafe". The "cafe" takes up more room than many of the building areas combined! We wish that the designers would have added some other exciting themed element instead of just leading every one to an open air space and using prime space for tables and chairs to eat the overpriced hot dogs and pizza that's served.

Another thing that was peculiar is that this place has been opened for just one week but things are already broken! There's an area in the "lego factory" where it looks like parts of the big Lego has been chipped and repaired with putty. The baseball field in Miniland has an interactive feature which the employee said "sorry, the spring is broken on it and doesn't work anymore and we are waiting for a new spring." Then on the Merlin's Apprentice ride, there are two seats already broken and not operational.

All in all, I would still recommend someone experience this place. The prices (if booked online) are fair for what the place has to offer. Just don't go expecting a lifetime of memories from happening!

1  Thank MidGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, Manager at LEGOLAND Discovery Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Hi, thank you for your review of our attraction! We are pretty proud of our attraction and what it offers to guests, however we truly appreciate the feedback of the total attraction. As far as the layout and design of the attraction we will forward this on to design teams so they have this input. If you have any other concerns you'd like to follow up with management please give us a call at 404-848-9252. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Lego land is a nice place with good attractions. Best geared to the 9 and under crowd. The staff seems to be trying hard, but not have the tools and training to do a good job. They talk in the lego factory, but without a microphone no one can hear them. They try to build excitement in the 3D theatre but don't have good material. There is a countdown for the theatre, but when it is finished, the doors don't open, nothing happens for several more minutes.

Thank MaureenA224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, Manager at LEGOLAND Discovery Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Thank you for your valued feedback. Please rest assured that our team are in constant training to ensure that we continue to develop our service. Your comments regarding the factory have been noted, and we are aiming to have a microphone in place at the end of this week. In addition, your comments regarding our 4D Theatre have been taken on board, and we will be speaking to our technical manager to ensure that this issue is rectified as soon as possible. Thanks again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LEGOLAND Discovery Center also viewed

 

Been to LEGOLAND Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing