We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to go back!”
Review of Stonehurst Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stonehurst Place
Ranked #1 of 21 Atlanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I want to go back!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed at the Stonehurst Place last year when I was in the area for work and was so impressed. I would love to go back with my husband for a weekend getaway! The innkeepers are amazing, breakfasts were delicious, decor is fantastic, love all the art and the books. I always thought having breakfast with strangers would be weird but it's not at all, it's fun! They are so friendly and accommodating. My flight got in really late because of a weather delay and it was no problem at all. The location was perfect (I took the MARTA from the airport and walked the rest of the way.) I live in California and have been looking for a local bed and breakfast to go for our anniversary and NOTHING I have found online even compares to Stonehurst Place. If you are in Atlanta, definitely stay here!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Desiree1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
279
40
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We signed up for the elopement package at Stonehurst Place, which was convenient and just what we wanted. Caroline and Gary are terrific innkeepers.

You don't want to miss Caroline's cooking; from her full breakfast to her cakes and breads, everything is delicious.

The inn is in perfect condition -- a great mix of the old and the new. You can tell that an awful lot of work went into designing the inn and choosing the furniture and artwork. If you go, take time to look at their original pieces by well-known artists located throughout the inn.

There wasn't anything remotely negative about our stay or the inn; when you and your new wife are remarking about the quality of the sheets, the great art, and even the light switches, you know this is a place that has paid attention to literally every single detail. Consequently, they will do what they can to make you feel welcome, and they succeed on every level.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AGeorgiaReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Absolutely A+ from start to finish. Impeccably restored and maintained. The Innkeepers were wonderful, very pleasant and helpful. The goodies left about were a welcome refreshment. All of the rooms in the home are thoughtfully designed and appointed. There is plenty of space for all guests to have a private spot, inside and out. This home is within walking distance to great local eateries, stores, parks and service facilities. Don't hesitate, this is a great place!

Room Tip: The Gables room sans the studio area is a great bargain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The location in Atlanta, hot breakfasts of high quality,charming rooms, overall ambience, generous public spaces and all the little extras make this place a fantastic property. I would definitely stay there again, but I do have one small problem. Over breakfast, I think political topics should be avoided in the polarized United States, especially by the otherwise charming, warm, attentive host. I was very uncomfortable on my last morning.

Room Tip: The most expensive room upstairs is massive, sunny, and extremely luxurious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tokyo Shirokuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manly
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Everything about Stonehurst place is perfection. A great mix of the old with the new, attention to detail, not overdone but something of interest everywhere you look. The hostess Caroline provided a beautiful breakfast and then proceeded to help us with our ongoing trip to Savannah by writing out a list of places to see and references for restaurants of all types which turned out to be spot on. Just a short walk to beautiful Piedmont Park , Fedreal Reserve Museum, and Margaret Mitchell House. Could not fault this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ManlyGriswalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I recently took my 75 year old mother to Stonehurst Place to introduce her to the world of bed and breakfast inns. What an absolutely wonderful experience for her. The house was beautifully decorated, with interesting art work, a beautiful music room and the attention to detail was seen in every little corner with access to books, music and information about local events and the Atlanta area. Caroline and Gary were so attentive,without hoovering. and we had a sense that the entire house was accessible. I don't know where to begin with Caroline's cooking... she prepared afternoon snacks that were just mouth watering and the breakfast was unbelievably scrumptous!. The house is tucked away in a cozy historic neighborhood in Mid town but within walking distace to several nice restaurants, Piedmont Park and the Atlanta Botanical Gardens. I am so looking forward to coming back with my husband for a nice little weekend getaway. Thank you Caroline and Gary for making my moms stay so special. Such sweet memories for a mother and daughter!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank southernliving1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

After staying 4nights here, I feel this place become my another home far from China.It has many impressive aspects.Firstly,the elegant decoration both interior and exterior.Secondly,the eco-friendly E&M system for the whole house.Last but far from least,the pleasant books,musics and arts collection and paintings.It's just the dream place for living! Thanks a lot for Caroline's delicious breakfast,which looks so beautiful that I couldn't help to take pictures each time and the enjoyable moments will remain in my mind for a long time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#5 of 173 in Atlanta
2,132 reviews
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#15 of 173 in Atlanta
1,677 reviews
Midtown
Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Midtown
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehurst Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehurst Place

Property: Stonehurst Place
Address: 923 Piedmont Ave NE, Atlanta, GA 30309-4108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Midtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonehurst Place 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2016 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Award winner, this boutique inn is minutes to business and theatre districts and Atlanta's tourist attractions. Luxurious and eco-friendly, with 6 elegant rooms and suites mixing contemporary design in a historic setting. Gourmet breakfasts and superior service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Stonehurst Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonehurst Place Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing