We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay...but could be better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Marietta
Ranked #104 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a friend's wedding. The hotel was very nice but the walls could have been much more sound proof. We could hear people opening and closing their doors and conversations in the hallway. The price was awesome or so we thought…it was $74.00 per night but included NOTHING…that is where they get you…most hotels offer free wireless now…NOPE it was $9.95 per day. No fridge or microwave in rooms...but you could rent them...REALLY! The breakfast buffet was so costly we would have done better ordering room service or just going out to eat. The room itself was nicely decorated and I love the bathroom amenities (you can never go wrong with Crabtree and Evelyn) the shower was AWESOME...I love a strong shower. If you decide to enjoy the breakfast buffet purchase it in advance. I was not aware that you could purchase advance tickets for only $8.00! Without it a breakfast for two was $27.90!!!!!! My mouth hit the floor and this buffet was NO where near worth the money. All and all I may stay here again....it was CLEAN which is always number one on my list.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlindsey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

724 - 730 of 794 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed here using American Advantage miles. The front desk staff were very nice. There wasn't a refrigerator, but we were able to rent one for $10/night. Since we had a young child who needed her milk, it was worth it to us. The room itself was nice; it was non smoking, but the hallway reeked of cigarettes. Our neighbors woke us up at 1:30 shaking the bed so hard, their iron headboard was banging against the wall (use your imagination). The breakfast the next morning was typical - eggs, bacon/sausage, potatoes. If you're looking for reasonably prices, this is it. Overall, a good trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSP_159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We booked a king room with a special rate and arrived on a Friday evening. We were somewhat surprised to find this good-sized facility full. Our room was fairly spacious and the bathroom facilities clean and orderly. We had no problems with the room.

The hotel itself is convenient to I-75, but not too close to the highway. The setting was pleasant along a tree-lined road and seemed to be quiet. Besides the Chick-fil-A right next door, it's just a short hop across the main road to a Waffle House and other eating places. I would not mind staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeatherWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Room was nice and clean. No refrigerator. Thermostat could not be adjusted. Hotel promptly sent someone who was nice but didn't know what he was doing. Wasn't a major issue - just wanted a slightly warmer room. Service at "wine bar" was good but food was below average. E.g., flat bread was more like a pizza dough and was so drenched in oil that it permeated the "bread." Hotel pet fee is quite high. Understand need for such a fee but it was higher than room rate.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The hotel is comfortable, safe, the service is fine and you have everything you need.... but I will not go out of my way to stay here again.

It's just details, but the lighting in the room is very dim making it difficult to see properly to work. There is also a mix of cool white and warm white lights making the lighting that you do have, completely variable within the room. It also makes the room seem on the rundown side.

Also, the TV is a big old thing that will not allow you to swivel it at all - I like to watch TV while I work at the desk, but this is impossible.

I realize there are far worse things to comment on in a hotel, which are not here. But there is alot of competition for hotels in the area and I know these minor frustrations will not put this hotel at the top of my list for future visits.

Room Tip: Ask for a king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Butterfly1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

So I went flying down to Atlanta over Labor Day weekend and thought that I would check out this hotel, seeing as other individuals that I knew were staying there. Let's get started.

The hotel is a very nice hotel, in terms of amenities and accomodations. They have a nice outdoor pool, an indoor hot tub, mini-business center, restaurant (which I did not try) and bar (again, which I didn't try). The rooms were very comfortable, and the suite that I stayed in was extremely nice. It had a media center with flat screen TV, direct access to the pool, two bathrooms, and a nice king size bed. The cookies that they gave at the front desk were warm and good, and the housekeeping staff very attentive to needs. There is a Chik-Fil-A steps from the front door, and a McDonald's across the street, very convenient for those late night munchies.

Unfortunately, a situation that didn't have to occur, did. Believe it or not, it started at the front desk and stretched out two weeks. One thing I have learned is that when you are in the hospitality industry, customer service is KEY. That means, you do not talk to someone like they are a child and then in the same sentence act inappropriate...especially if there are other individuals in the area of the front desk. I spoke with the front desk supervisor, who referred me to the front desk manager, who told me the same line I've heard time and time again: "I will talk with him about the issue and will do some coaching". To be honest I've heard this line so many times, that I don't hold stock in it anymore.

Long story short, after going to the Diamond desk at Corporate and asking for an apology from the representative and bonus points - and going back and forth for almost two weeks, the Diamond desk is sending me a certificate good for a free stay at any Doubletree. I'll accept it, but I will not again stay at this hotel. I think I've earned the right to be respected and treated with respect when I spend my money out of town.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

No complaints at all with this hotel. Staff was pleasant. Rooms were very nice. Quiet and clean. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACharaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Galleria
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Marietta/Windy Hill
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta NW/Wildwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Northlake
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Atlanta Northwest at SunTrust Park
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlanta - Cumberland / Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Marietta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Marietta

Address: 2055 S Park Pl SE, Atlanta, GA 30339-2014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#41 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: $118 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Marietta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Atlanta attractions while visiting the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta – Marietta, located just off I-75 and I-285. Our hotel near Marietta provides quick access to Dobbins Air Reserve Base, IBM, Lockheed Martin, Georgia-Pacific, GE and Coca-Cola corporations. Enjoy a spacious guest room or hotel suite featuring signature bedding, wireless high-speed internet access, and a 27-inch TV with premium cable. Indulge in a suite that offers a separate parlor area with a sofa bed, private bedroom and refrigerator.Maintain your exercise regimen in our on-site hotel fitness center or go swimming in the unique indoor/outdoor pool. Our 24-hour business center overlooks a water garden, and provides complimentary WiFi, two Uniguest computers, and other services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlanta - Marietta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Atlanta Nw
Doubletree Atlanta
Atlanta Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing