We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“deserves it's rating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Atlanta/Buckhead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wingate by Wyndham Atlanta/Buckhead
Ranked #4 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
dublin
Level Contributor
208 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“deserves it's rating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

We had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel. The staff are really friendly and helpful. Restaurants were suggested and booked for us and were excellent. Being driven to the restaurants and collected in the fancy cars was a treat too. Room was clean, roomy and quiet. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, especially the waffles made fresh each morning.

Buckhead is a great base to explore Atlanta, (residential/business area). The Marta station is only a 10-15 min walk or the drivers at the hotel will drop you there, great for sightseeing and ideal for going back to the airport also if you don't want to take a taxi.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a visitor from ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,485
    433
    106
    28
    19
See reviews for
524
575
127
595
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

as usual the reviewers were spot on with this hotel.
The hotel itself is good, but it's the staff like Chris at reception & Ben the driver who made the stay excellent. The facilities are top notch for a hotel in this price range. I would have no problem recommending it & if I go back to Atlanta I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

As a travel agent planning corporate travel groups, details make or break a successful event. On the front end, Mr. Anthony Hines-Tecoy made this a one-stop shop who assisted in coordinating every detail. He provided me with great response time and the confidence that my group was in good hands. Following the event I recieved many compliments on the hotel and staff. Thanks agian and I would highly recommend this hotel and their great staff.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

We've stayed at the Ritz-Carlton and the CW Marriott in Atlanta, and this hotel puts them to shame! From the minute we walked in the door to the minute we left, we were treated with 5-star service. The rooms had wood floors, the bed was wonderful, and the soap and shampoo were from Penhaligon. The staff opened the bar early simply because we said we were thirsty! We had several choices for dinner, and the staff recommended one a few blocks from the hotel. The restaurant already knew we were from the Wingate and were expecting us!
I can't enough positive things about this property.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallahassee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

WARNING:
The pictures of the bathroom on the hotel’s website do not look like the actual bathrooms you will encounter (and unfortunately, these were the tipping point in my decision to reserve this hotel). They appear to be nice, big marble showers with glass doors (DOORS! YAY!) but in actuality the bathroom is not even on par with other hotels of the 3-star variety. It is a simple tub and shower curtain, and the bathroom is INCREDIBLY small. The pictures on the hotel’s website are undoubtedly in the suites or handicapped rooms, but of course, they do not disclose this. The caption merely reads “Bathroom”. There is not enough room for two people to stand side by side at the single sink and see the mirror. The room is as deep as a standard tub, the sink and counter span the entire length of the opposite wall, and there is just enough room for a toilet between them and room for the door to open into the bathroom.

Cons:
GROSS stuff growing from bathtub overflow drain and down into the tub (and it wasn’t a stain, it moved with the water flow), mildew in the shower (seriously, how do maids not know to carry a bottle of bleach on the cart?), no conditioner in the toiletries kit although they still have funds for shoe mitts and shower caps, lamps didn’t work, only one nightstand for King bed (doubtless because the room’s so small), BOTH phones in room didn’t work (making it pretty darn difficult to call the front desk), hairdryer only blew cool air, the iron burned (and ruined) my shirt in less than a second and then later fell apart, the office chair won’t stay set and gradually rises up to the maximum height trapping your legs under the desk, the computers in the main business center downstairs (only two of them) both were out of order, stained sofa in the room, maybe the worst thing of all was rolling shades over the window (no curtains at all) that do not even come close to covering the window so you haven’t the smallest hope of sleeping late, NO laundry facilities of any kind available (self-service or otherwise).

Pros:
Breakfast is ok… not fantastic. Standard cereal (although only healthy cereals, no Froot Loops, Corn Pops, etc.), bagels, yogurt, omelets, and waffles (although the man who will make these for you—no self service—can be hard to locate at times). Good coffee/espresso/cappuccino machine although it may be only available at breakfast. They offer a complimentary shuttle for a 3 mile radius. I think I like the idea of laminate floors—you can see if the room’s been cleaned or not, although these floors looked super cheap. The shower head was really good. The staff did seem helpful with the exception of the maid, although that may have just been a language deficiency, and the front desk attendant that finally got one computer in the business center up and running and didn’t seem the least bit concerned that the other computer might need to be fixed so other customers could use it. Free parking and free internet access (although it had a poor signal in our room and we could never actually get on the internet).

A little about myself:
I am not wealthy, but am not poverty-stricken either. I am not a nitpicker looking for something to complain about--I am fine with a clean room, but I get frustrated with sloppiness, lazy attention to maintenance, and misrepresentation. I cannot in my wildest dreams figure out how on earth this hotel is #1 on the Tripadvisor list. I reserved it over a hotel that I had previously had a great experience with (the Omni at CNN) solely because I trust Tripadvisor’s system and my fellow travelers’ reviews. I now will question heartily any recommendation I see on Tripadvisor and I’m sad about that. The only explanation I can think of is that this hotel was very, very good when it was first opened, but has not done anything to maintain that since and is sliding into disrepair and mediocrity. It is certainly not worth the rate I paid, and in no way deserves the #1 slot on Tripadvisor in a city of so many hotel options.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieW84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttboy828, Guest Services Manager/Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Atlanta/Buckhead, responded to this review, June 11, 2009
We did an extensive investigation and cannot find any evidence or reports of any of the issues listed. The Wingate by Wyndham Buckhead is committed to solving our guest's problems and issues. In order to correct an issue, the hotel does need to know about it first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

The entire staff at the Wingate was exceptional. They all went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. It did not matter what we requested they were all very quick to help. Thanks for a memorable Memorial Day!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aweems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2009

I am very picky about where I stay. Cleanliness and comfort are important to me. On our first night in Atlanta, we stayed downtown because it was "walking distance" to the Georgia Aquarium but I was unhappy with that hotel so we decided to go into Buckhead to stay at the #1 rated hotel. First of all, the drive from downtown to Buckhead is very easy and short. I regretted not staying at Wingate by Wynham from the start because parking for the Aquarium and nearby attractions was only $5 in a garage that I felt very safe with. The parking at Wingate is free which was nice compared to the $30/day parking downtown at hotel.
The staff here was so friendly. The room felt comfy and bright and CLEAN. The bathroom was so clean with nice tile on the floor. Plenty of closet space and comfy beds with fluffy pillows. Close to malls and easy hop to the highway to go downtown. The complimentary hot breakfast was so nice. Made to order omelets and waffles. Quiet and peaceful feeling in hotel. Great value!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MommyAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#17 of 172 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Buckhead
Grand Hyatt Atlanta in Buckhead
Buckhead
Mandarin Oriental, Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#5 of 172 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Atlanta/Buckhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Atlanta/Buckhead

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Atlanta/Buckhead
Address: 3600 Piedmont Rd NE, Atlanta, GA 30305-1416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Buckhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Atlanta
#4 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#7 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Atlanta/Buckhead 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Atlanta/Buckhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Atlanta - Buckhead Hotel Atlanta
Wingate Hotel Buckhead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing