We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and walk to Turner Field...but that's about all.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South
Ranked #137 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and walk to Turner Field...but that's about all.”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We chose this location due only to short walk to Turner Field to see a Braves game. The hotel is worn and looks like it is on it's last legs. The staff is friendly and helpful, but they can't make a silk purse out of an aged structure that missed it's last renovation cycle. I suspect this place will eventually be torn down to make way for a modern hotel or a parking lot.

The room and bathroom was adequate for a one night stay. We weren't bothered by noise, but the A/C fan cuts on and off...will not stay in the "on" mode.

Exiting to drive south on a weekday is easy and there is very little traffic headed outbound on I-85/75.

The free breakfast was good.

You get what you pay for...and this was a comparatively cheap room.

For my next trip to see a Braves game, I will learn how to work the MARTA/Bus Shuttle system and stay somewhere a bit more comfortable and modern.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toastmaster2D2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South, responded to this review, August 26, 2016
Toastmaster2D2,

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again when you next travel to Atlanta. Since your stay, we have been actively working to improve our services, responsiveness, and the functionality of our products to ensure things are operating as they should. We have been updating and upgrading our rooms and the general appearance of our property. I hope you have safe travels in the future.

Best Regards,

Enoch D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    86
    73
    40
    44
See reviews for
94
68
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I agree with the prior review about door slamming. This could be fixed by asking guests to pull the door shut rather than letting it close with a "bang" on its own. However, this hotel has a lot of other major problems. It is an old building and it is obvious whoever owns it is milking it for as much money as they can get without putting any money back into it. The location is perfect if you are a Braves fan and they are taking advantage of that. The room was not very clean, the refrigerator wasn't working and the very small, old TV was on its last leg. Some of the bath towels were so used, they had holes in them. The toilet had to be flushed twice to adequately work. The ice machine on our floor was broken, meaning trips to another floor for ice to keep the food we brought cold since the refrigerator wasn't working. The pool was not open, even though the guest services book in our room said it was to be open from March to September.

The staff is very nice and are working the best they can with what they have. They did finally provide us with a working refrigerator. The breakfast is adequate, but they could use some "lite" options. There is another breakfast room down the hall from the lobby to alleviate crowding, but there is no sign directing you to it. My guess is they don't want to clean it, so they don't tell you it's there.

We have stayed at this Comfort Inn before. It wasn't the best then and it has deteriorated since. Would advise a stay at a hotel out of town and near a Marta stop for access to Braves games. You will also find more dining options out of the city. There are very few places to eat around Turner Field (the reason we brought food).

Room Tip: Entire fourth floor is nonsmoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South, responded to this review, August 26, 2016
Susan M,

Thank you for your review. Since your stay, we have been actively working to improve our services, responsiveness, and the functionality of our products to ensure things are operating as they should. We have been updating and upgrading our rooms and the general appearance of our property. I hope you have safe travels in the future.

Best Regards,

Enoch D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlanta hotels

Clearfield, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Yes, it's a typical hotel near the ball park with a great staff and really nice breakfast. But it's also a hotel with a major problem that can't be easily fixed - noise in the hallways. And unfortunately, this problem comes with every room by design. In most hotels the fan in the AC/heat system will either stay on after reaching the right temperature, or there's a button marked "fan only" - which you can use for background noise, so you won't hear your neighbors or the people in the hallways. But the air handlers in this hotel are thermostatically controlled. They shut off when they've reached the right temperature - and there is no "fan only" button. As a result, it'll be quiet in your room and noisy outside - again and again - even after midnight! We woke up to the sounds of doors being pulled closed and slammed shut - repeatedly. It's not that the other guests were bad. They weren't yelling or partying. They were just closing their doors, the way people do in a hotel - and there was no way for us to stop that noise, or go to sleep. And after midnight your alternatives are limited: complain to the manager (but no one's partying), sleep-in the next day (but we had a schedule), or go to a different hotel (but who wants to find another hotel after midnight?) So for us, it was bad. My wife and I both had red eyes and were dragged out the next day -- all due to the sleep quality at this Comfort Inn. And unfortunately, it's a problem this hotel won't be able to easily fix. We finally fixed it by turning on the bathroom exhaust fan.

Room Tip: Use the bathroom exhaust fan for white noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyOldOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South, responded to this review, August 26, 2016
HappyOneAiken_SC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and insight into our hotel. I wish you safe travels in the future.

Best Regards,

Enoch D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Cheerful, helpful staff. A little out of mainstream downtown Atlanta e.g. poor access to MARTA.
Fitness room in adjacent hotel. Pretty good breakfast.

Room Tip: Go to Georgia State to Catch Marta.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South, responded to this review, August 26, 2016
Dennis V,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again when you next travel to Atlanta. Since your stay, we have been actively working to improve our services, responsiveness, and the functionality of our products to ensure things are operating as they should. We have been updating and upgrading our rooms and the general appearance of our property. I hope you have safe travels in the future and we'll look forward to seeing you during your next stay in Atlanta.

Best Regards,

Enoch D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Got a non smoking room, the room & entire floor smelled like nothing but cigarettes. Ac kept shutting off even though it wasn't set to auto. Hotel staff would not offer any type of assistance to help guest find their way around city & when asked for info they gave attitude. Breakfast was actually good although very little space to eat. When finally moved to 6th floor room was actually clean. BTW...I did not find the "pool". When I requested to check out early they made us wait till 3 o'clock till manager came in only to tell us she would be charging the prior night and that night as well but would credit the rest needless to say we stayed that night and checked out the next day, if you must stay here make sure you request the 6th floor (if a non smoker)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dserranoadverturers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South, responded to this review, August 26, 2016
dserranoadverturers6,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our property. Since your visit we have been actively seeking opportunities to improve our service and professionalism at our hotel. Smoking is definitely something we have been working to ensure doesn't occur at our non-smoking property and guests who violate that policy are charged for their actions. However, this does not always discourage those determined to operate outside of policy. I am glad to hear we were able to make things right after you spoke with our manager. I hope you enjoy your future travels to Atlanta.

Sincerely,

Enoch D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We've stayed here every year for the past 7 years. It's right across the street from the southwest entrance to Turner Field so we don't have to deal with parking and traffic. The entire staff (front desk, housekeeping & maintenance) is friendly, professional and very accommodating. The room was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast area was being renovated and was very inviting with a good selection of breakfast items. The pool was especially nice on the hot August days. I recommend this Comfort Inn to everyone at the Braves Spring Training games so they can go see the team play at Turner Field. The closeness to the park and the friendly staff make it very appealing to the Florida retirees.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South, responded to this review, August 26, 2016
Lynn M,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again when you next travel to Atlanta. Since your stay, we have been actively working to improve our services, responsiveness, and the functionality of our products to ensure things are operating as they should. We have been updating and upgrading our rooms and the general appearance of our property. I hope you have safe travels in the future and we'll look forward to seeing you during your next stay in Atlanta.

Best Regards,

Enoch D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2012

A Pre-note was sent to my checking account, because I was using a debit account, for an amount HIGHER than the actual charge. I was NOT advised they would be holding funds in my account for 5-7 days, UNTIL I called and inquired about the charge. I had cash and would have used that, had I know they would unnecessarily put a hold on my account!!!!!!

The room was ok.... bed, tub, toilet......which is what I needed, just nothing "above and beyond"!! I don't plan on being back!!

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South, responded to this review, August 26, 2016
larry w,

I'm sorry to read about this unfortunate incident at our hotel. It is a business standard practice for all hotels to hold a certain amount of funds on hold in order to cover any incidentals during your stay. I will work to ensure all guests are make explicitly aware that those funds will be held in the future. Safe travels,

Enoch D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Atlanta Downtown South at Turner Field
1.7 mi away
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#79 of 171 in Atlanta
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#45 of 171 in Atlanta
784 reviews
1.9 mi away
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
#93 of 171 in Atlanta
34 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ellis Hotel
Ellis Hotel
#48 of 171 in Atlanta
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South

Property: Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South
Address: 795 Pollard Blvd SW, Atlanta, GA 30315 (Formerly Grant Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a recently renovated property within 1 mile of Downtown Atlanta offering free hot breakfast, free wireless high speed internet, and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown South At Turner Field Hotel Atlanta
Comfort Inn Atlanta
Atlanta Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing