We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Door slammings will wake you up again and again...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South
Ranked #137 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Yes, it's a typical hotel near the ball park with a great staff and really nice breakfast. But it's also a hotel with a major problem that can't be easily fixed - noise in the hallways. And unfortunately, this problem comes with every room by design. In most hotels the fan in the AC/heat system will either stay on after reaching the right temperature, or there's a button marked "fan only" - which you can use for background noise, so you won't hear your neighbors or the people in the hallways. But the air handlers in this hotel are thermostatically controlled. They shut off when they've reached the right temperature - and there is no "fan only" button. As a result, it'll be quiet in your room and noisy outside - again and again - even after midnight! We woke up to the sounds of doors being pulled closed and slammed shut - repeatedly. It's not that the other guests were bad. They weren't yelling or partying. They were just closing their doors, the way people do in a hotel - and there was no way for us to stop that noise, or go to sleep. And after midnight your alternatives are limited: complain to the manager (but no one's partying), sleep-in the next day (but we had a schedule), or go to a different hotel (but who wants to find another hotel after midnight?) So for us, it was bad. My wife and I both had red eyes and were dragged out the next day -- all due to the sleep quality at this Comfort Inn. And unfortunately, it's a problem this hotel won't be able to easily fix. We finally fixed it by turning on the bathroom exhaust fan.

Room Tip: Use the bathroom exhaust fan for white noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyOldOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2016

HappyOneAiken_SC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and insight into our hotel. I wish you safe travels in the future.

Best Regards,

Enoch D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 302 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

Cheerful, helpful staff. A little out of mainstream downtown Atlanta e.g. poor access to MARTA.
Fitness room in adjacent hotel. Pretty good breakfast.

Room Tip: Go to Georgia State to Catch Marta.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2016

Dennis V,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again when you next travel to Atlanta. Since your stay, we have been actively working to improve our services, responsiveness, and the functionality of our products to ensure things are operating as they should. We have been updating and upgrading our rooms and the general appearance of our property. I hope you have safe travels in the future and we'll look forward to seeing you during your next stay in Atlanta.

Best Regards,

Enoch D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Got a non smoking room, the room & entire floor smelled like nothing but cigarettes. Ac kept shutting off even though it wasn't set to auto. Hotel staff would not offer any type of assistance to help guest find their way around city & when asked for info they gave attitude. Breakfast was actually good although very little space to eat. When finally moved to 6th floor room was actually clean. BTW...I did not find the "pool". When I requested to check out early they made us wait till 3 o'clock till manager came in only to tell us she would be charging the prior night and that night as well but would credit the rest needless to say we stayed that night and checked out the next day, if you must stay here make sure you request the 6th floor (if a non smoker)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dserranoadverturers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2016

dserranoadverturers6,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our property. Since your visit we have been actively seeking opportunities to improve our service and professionalism at our hotel. Smoking is definitely something we have been working to ensure doesn't occur at our non-smoking property and guests who violate that policy are charged for their actions. However, this does not always discourage those determined to operate outside of policy. I am glad to hear we were able to make things right after you spoke with our manager. I hope you enjoy your future travels to Atlanta.

Sincerely,

Enoch D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We've stayed here every year for the past 7 years. It's right across the street from the southwest entrance to Turner Field so we don't have to deal with parking and traffic. The entire staff (front desk, housekeeping & maintenance) is friendly, professional and very accommodating. The room was very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast area was being renovated and was very inviting with a good selection of breakfast items. The pool was especially nice on the hot August days. I recommend this Comfort Inn to everyone at the Braves Spring Training games so they can go see the team play at Turner Field. The closeness to the park and the friendly staff make it very appealing to the Florida retirees.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2016

Lynn M,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again when you next travel to Atlanta. Since your stay, we have been actively working to improve our services, responsiveness, and the functionality of our products to ensure things are operating as they should. We have been updating and upgrading our rooms and the general appearance of our property. I hope you have safe travels in the future and we'll look forward to seeing you during your next stay in Atlanta.

Best Regards,

Enoch D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

A Pre-note was sent to my checking account, because I was using a debit account, for an amount HIGHER than the actual charge. I was NOT advised they would be holding funds in my account for 5-7 days, UNTIL I called and inquired about the charge. I had cash and would have used that, had I know they would unnecessarily put a hold on my account!!!!!!

The room was ok.... bed, tub, toilet......which is what I needed, just nothing "above and beyond"!! I don't plan on being back!!

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2016

larry w,

I'm sorry to read about this unfortunate incident at our hotel. It is a business standard practice for all hotels to hold a certain amount of funds on hold in order to cover any incidentals during your stay. I will work to ensure all guests are make explicitly aware that those funds will be held in the future. Safe travels,

Enoch D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

My wife and I had to make a quick trip to Atlanta to attend a funeral so we drove up from Jacksonville. Room was very clean and quiet. We were on the 6th floor. Everyone at the front desk was extremely pleasant and no long wait to check-in.

Very good breakfast included in the price with a lot of hot items served including making your own waffles and they had scrambled eggs too. Hotel is very close to downtown and includes free parking. My son and family stayed downtown but had to pay $23. per night to park the car. A rip-off as far as I am concerned.

Because of the stress of the funeral we forgot a garment bag in the closet. (First time ever we have forgotten anything). Called the manager when we got home and she was extremely helpful in packing up the items so I could have FedEx come the next day with a pre-paid label to pick up the package and deliver it to me.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stockman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2016

stockman41,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again when you next travel to Atlanta. Since your stay, we have been actively working to improve our services, responsiveness, and the functionality of our products to ensure things are operating as they should. We have been updating and upgrading our rooms and the general appearance of our property. I hope you have safe travels in the future and we'll look forward to seeing you during your next stay in Atlanta.

Best Regards,

Enoch D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

My business associates and I really enjoyed our stay. The staff was so friendly and patient, even before we arrived. They also gave us good info about restaurant close by and took care of the cab service. The rooms were nice and cleaned well every day.
The breakfast area was cheerful and the food was good.
Everybody made a special effort to make sure we were well taken care of. I certainly will recommend the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enoch D, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2016

Karla P,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again when you next travel to Atlanta. Since your stay, we have been actively working to improve our services, responsiveness, and the functionality of our products to ensure things are operating as they should. We have been updating and upgrading our rooms and the general appearance of our property. I hope you have safe travels in the future and we'll look forward to seeing you during your next stay in Atlanta.

Best Regards,

Enoch D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Atlanta Downtown South at Turner Field
1.7 mi away
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
Courtyard Atlanta Downtown
#79 of 172 in Atlanta
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
#97 of 172 in Atlanta
51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Atlanta Downtown Capitol Park
2.0 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#44 of 172 in Atlanta
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South

Address: 795 Pollard Blvd SW, Atlanta, GA 30315 (Formerly Grant Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range: $92 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a recently renovated property within 1 mile of Downtown Atlanta offering free hot breakfast, free wireless high speed internet, and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Atlanta Downtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown South At Turner Field Hotel Atlanta
Comfort Inn Atlanta
Atlanta Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing