We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible stay” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Atlanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Atlanta
Ranked #91 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

The hotel is poorly lit and beige - low ceilings and dark and depressing lighting.

The guest service is horrible - the gent who checked me in mumbled so badly that I could not understand what he was saying. I asked specifically for a nonsmoking room and lo and behold, I get a smoking room on a smoking floor.

I immediately called front desk and was told to come down to change my room to a nonsmoking room. I promptly come downstairs and lo and behold, I was told that there were no more nonsmoking rooms and that someone will come promptly to get rid of the smoking odors (why did they waste my time to wait in line so that there is no room change). Well, it has been more than 15-20 mintues later and no cleaning service....

This place sucks and the front desk sucks.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DTP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    1,125
    887
    423
    228
See reviews for
599
649
208
1,615
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kennel in the sky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

A very good example of the Hilton chain. Comfortable. Well organized. Staff helpful. All round good experience

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flynn_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

Hilton Atlanta was actually better than I expected, given the outside. It's an older hotel, but most of them in downtown Atlanta are, so don't expect it to be super updated.

That said, the rooms are better than the hallways.

Was here for a tradeshow, so was staying on-site for business for four days. Room, on the concierge level floor, was nice, with a big TV with HD.

Bed was pretty comfortable. Bathroom a bit small and the bath amenities are all Hilton (i.e. kinda cruddy). Nice desk and desk chair.

Concierge lounge is fairly nice. It's great to be able to go get a free coffee or tea when you need it. Breakfast had a nice variety of stuff. Missed the evening spread, but nice to know it was there. The lounge floors are 3 floors, though, so you may have to go up one or down one to get something.

Location is a bit suck if you have to go out for something. You can hike it down a couple of blocks to Peachtree, but it's not right there.

My room was pretty loud. On 27th floor, near the area overlooking the lounge, it could be quite loud. But again, hotel was full for this tradeshow, so I expected it and packed earplugs.

Overall, not bad, but I wish all these hotels didn't feel the need to jack you for internet. It's offensive for a hotel catering to business travelers. Definitely makes you want to step down to a Hilton Garden Inn--still get a big TV and a comfy bed, but you pay less AND get free internet.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dagnytaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

I was worried about staying at this hotel based on reviews I read on this site before I went. I was there October 15-18, 2010 for a conference. However, I was pleasantly surprised by my experience. Unlike what previous travelers experienced, I found the hotel staff to be friendly, helpful and treated me with respect. I ordered room service twice: the same staff member brought it to me each morning, was on time, called me by name and even asked me about my kids (since I had mentioned being away from them).

Further, the hotel has been updated and renovated. The furnishings are modern and very tasteful.

The one awful thing is the location. It is in the middle of nowhere. Even the little mall nearby was closed on the weekend. I spent $60 roundtrip to take a cab to an area with shopping (Lenox mall). The saving grace is that it is attached to the Marriott, which is a great hotel. I had a massage at their spa, and ate dinner there and did some shopping in their gift shop.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjoyce75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

Staff was extremely helpful and friendly, room was clean and comfortable. Easy access to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tate33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

The clerk service was excellent and very accommodating. The service was better than we could ever expected. The room was very clean and comfortable. We highly recommend this hotel for your special occasion.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAPA56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonatl, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
Thank you for your comment. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your experience at Hilton Atlanta. We hope you come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville, tn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

Don't even think about bringing a car to this hotel. We made a reservation over the telephone. When we arrived at the hotel the valet said that valet parking was full and that we'd have to drive to a private lot a block away. Not too easy, not to mention not safe at all to be walking around the downtown Atlanta streets at night. Of course, the private lot (not owned by Hilton) doesn't have in-and-outs, so be prepared to pay out the teeth. Just not worth the risk if you're bringing a car.

As others have written, the service is just horrible at the hotel.

Interiors are VERY dated and worn.

I would consider staying at the Marriott across the street, which connects to the Hilton via a tunnel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knoxvillenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonatl, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
Hello and thank you for posting your comment. We sincerely apologize that our service did not meet your expectations. We always welcome the opportunity to improve upon our services when guests express their dissatisfaction. We hope you will visit us again and allow us the opportunity to make your stay a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
#41 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#37 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#28 of 172 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#34 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Atlanta

Property: Hilton Atlanta
Address: 255 Courtland Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1265
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#76 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 1249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern convention hotel, the Hilton Atlanta defies typical and embraces extraordinary in an ideal setting for business or pleasure. Positioned in the heart of downtown Atlanta, Hilton Atlanta is conveniently location near renowned attractions and premier venues and only 15 minutes from Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport. 1,249 guest rooms provide a comfortable home-base to recharge and rejuvenate, and a full range of amenities are offered to conduct business, stay fit and unwind. Known for delectable culinary delights, Hilton Atlanta features a variety of dining options including the award-winning Nikolai’s Roof and Trader Vic’s restaurants. Hilton Atlanta boasts 65 individual meetings rooms and approximately 129,000 square feet of SMART-FLO™ flexible space designed to maximize meetings and events for productivity and success. In summer, 2017 Hilton Atlanta will complete a multi-million dollar renovation consisting of enhancements to public areas, guestrooms, suites and meeting spaces. Meeting planners can expect increased flexibility and functionality with the transformation of ballroom space, as well as increased internet bandwidth to fulfill demands and expectations. A revamped Lobby will provide a captivating sense of arrival with a new front desk location and vibrant lighting. The second floor will be completely transformed as the ceiling height is raised and pillars are removed in the Grand Salon for increased flexibility and functionality. The 38,000 square-foot Galleria Exhibit Hall will be reconfigured to include breakouts, and all meeting space will feature increased internet bandwidth to fulfill meeting planners’ demands and expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hilton Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing