We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK, better options close by”
Review of Hilton Atlanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Atlanta
Ranked #92 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
386 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Just OK, better options close by”
Reviewed May 17, 2010

This is an OK choice in central Atlanta. The room is fine etc.
There is no room service after 11.30.
The decor is tired in public areas and the lay out does not flow.
The staff are good but short handed in a major way.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoesNotGetOutMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    1,183
    923
    445
    247
See reviews for
638
681
215
1,693
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Just got back from a three-night stay at the Hilton. Overall I enjoyed the stay, I was last there in 2002 and the recent remodel has really spurced up the joint. I upgraded the room to the 27th floor and the funishings, TV, bed, etc. were are nice and the bed in particular was quite comfortable. The workout room is well above average with all new equipment, loaner headsets for tv viewing, and a nice selection of equipment.

Downsides are the bathrooms are quite small but adequate (barely). The biggest thing the remodel missed were the windows--they are only single pane glass. It would be much nicer if they were double paned to cut down on noise. I could hear the freeway quite well even on the 27th floor at night.

Service, food and overall value are decent so if you have a convention here or other buisiness you can be pretty confident of a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2010

This hotel has been totally renovated and is a great place to hold a meeting. We held a meeting with 70 people attending from the Southeast. The guest rooms are comfortable and with room to move around. The staff was on top on every request and checking with us continually to insure everything was up to snuff. The hotel is located within walking distance to several shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmahaCoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

The rooms is clean and comfortable enough, but but the bathroom has horrible light and the shower water pressure is too high with no way to lower. That I can deal with. The ugly was check-in. I am a diamond member and used the honors desk. My work credit card was declined which I knew was an error. The clerk assured me that it "had to be" me and no way could the hotel be having a problem. Then my personal Amex declined and she still would not even consider it could be the hotel's issue. Only when other's were checking in at another station simultaniously got the same message did the clerk admit it could be their system. Someone (mgr?) in the back straightened out a time and after the whole embarrassing ordeal, without more than barely a sorry for the wait. This has to be the crappiest treatment I've ever had at a Hilton property and soured me on the entire stay - not the problem - glitches happen, but the treatment. I'd expect they would treat their diamond member's better.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

I'm a Hilton Honors member and used some of my Honors Rewards to stay here for three nights. I was in Atlanta to watch my daughter coach her club volleyball team at the Big South National Qualifier. According to the map and the hotel's website, the Georgia World Congress Center is only 5.5 blocks away. What the map doesn't adequately explain is that the 5.5 blocks is over a couple of hills that remind a traveler of San Francisco or going up the ladder at Seven Falls near Colorado Springs. The staff was indeed friendly. My TV was not properly working on the first night of my stay. I called the front desk to inform them of the issue and to my surprise, a very competent repairman came to my room within minutes of reporting the problem.

Here are some areas for improvement:

1. Doormen/Valet: On my initial walk up to the hotel from the MARTA station (around 10:30 a.m.) there were three doorman/valet type people standing around talking. No cars in sight. I had my arms full with a backpack and my full suitcase in tow. Therefore, I had some trepidation regarding the quality of this hotel when my walking up to the door with in obvious need for help did not illicit a single gesture of help.

2. Bathrooms: TINY, as in extremely TINY. If you are using the toilet seat, you can't close the door. Now that's TINY!

3. Room: Nice and clean. Beds are very comfortable.

4. Location of Front Desk: It is located in the back and towards the right. No one is there to help you find your way; but after a little search, you can find it.

Good Points:

1. Staff: The Human Resources department is doing its job. These are great people who are extremely friendly and helpful.

2. Traveler friendly: As stated above, I arrived at the hotel around 10:30. I was hesitant to ask if a room was available but when I checked in, the folks at the front desk said that they had a room ready. What a relief!

3. Close to the MARTA: If you are traveling via an airlines, don't take a taxi! The fare for a taxi is about $35 from the airport. It will cost you about $2.50 to ride the MARTA to the hotel. There are MARTA employees all around the stations to help you find your way.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Volleyball4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Oh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is only two blocks from the MARTA (subway). Very little in restaurant choices in the actual hotel. I had a very difficult time sleeping because of the noise level. You could hear everything that was going on in the next room. Bathroom was very small. Once again, being a Gold HHonors member had little impact on receiving amenities. The Marriott across the street looked like a better choice.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue_Aces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2010

This was by far the worst hotel I have stayed in downtown Atlanta. We were on the executive floor as a Gold HHonors member and the experience was bad. The walls are very thin and was awakened early in the morning by the neighbors yelling at each other, screaming, etc. You could hear everything they said. The showers were not nice at all. Very disappointed too that as a Gold VIP member, they did not offer free wi-fi. We won't be staying there again

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler82546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#37 of 173 in Atlanta
3,042 reviews
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
#45 of 173 in Atlanta
974 reviews
Downtown
Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#36 of 173 in Atlanta
3,753 reviews
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#44 of 173 in Atlanta
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Atlanta

Property: Hilton Atlanta
Address: 255 Courtland Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1265
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#76 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 1249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern convention hotel, the Hilton Atlanta defies typical and embraces extraordinary in an ideal setting for business or pleasure. Positioned in the heart of downtown Atlanta, Hilton Atlanta is conveniently location near renowned attractions and premier venues and only 15 minutes from Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport. 1,249 guest rooms provide a comfortable home-base to recharge and rejuvenate, and a full range of amenities are offered to conduct business, stay fit and unwind. Known for delectable culinary delights, Hilton Atlanta features a variety of dining options including the award-winning Nikolai’s Roof and Trader Vic’s restaurants. Hilton Atlanta boasts 65 individual meetings rooms and approximately 129,000 square feet of SMART-FLO™ flexible space designed to maximize meetings and events for productivity and success. In summer, 2017 Hilton Atlanta will complete a multi-million dollar renovation consisting of enhancements to public areas, guestrooms, suites and meeting spaces. Meeting planners can expect increased flexibility and functionality with the transformation of ballroom space, as well as increased internet bandwidth to fulfill demands and expectations. A revamped Lobby will provide a captivating sense of arrival with a new front desk location and vibrant lighting. The second floor will be completely transformed as the ceiling height is raised and pillars are removed in the Grand Salon for increased flexibility and functionality. The 38,000 square-foot Galleria Exhibit Hall will be reconfigured to include breakouts, and all meeting space will feature increased internet bandwidth to fulfill meeting planners’ demands and expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing