We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Convenient!”
Review of Hilton Atlanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Atlanta
Ranked #83 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Connected by a maze of walkways to Peachtree Center, the downtown Atlanta Hilton could not be more convenient if you are going to the Merchandise Mart. Whether it's a January ice storm or a July thunderstorm, you can make it to the mart and back to your hotel room without having to brave the elements.

I don't know when the hotel was built. I know that we finagled sought-after reservations to Nicholai's Roof in the late 70s and Nicholai's Roof seems to still be going strong. The point is: The hotel does have that tired 1970s architecture, and the interiors seem a bit like retro period pieces.

BUT the staff at this hotel is the friendliest of any hotel I've ever stayed in! They were the most attractive and genuinely happy group I think I've ever encountered. After a long day at market, their cheerful service is just the antidote you need.

My room was on the 21st floor of the I-75 side and I could still hear the trucks and cars above the hum of the a/c. Try to get a room on the Courtland Avenue side (if that's possible...I'm terrible with directions).

Nonetheless, I will definitely stay there again and would have already made a reservation for the January market but they don't take them this far in advance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the I-75 side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LilyK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,269 - 2,275 of 3,997 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

This Hilton is clean, staffed by friendly and helpful employees, and within walking distance of many amenities, especially when you're doing business in downtown Atlanta. The series of enclosed pedestrian bridges between the Hilton, the Marriott, the Hyatt, and the mall make traveling by foot a breeze, even in the heat of the summer. I had a room on the 16th floor and the view was great.

However the walls of the rooms are thin, my toilet had a leak, the housekeeper failed to replenish the drinking cups multiple times during my eight night stay, and multiple people within our company had downright bad experiences with their stay while we were in town. According to others who've stayed at other properties in the area, the Hyatt or the Marriott are preferred by far.

PRO TIP: If your company requires you to share a room with a coworker, note that only one person can receive the Hilton Hhonors points from that stay. It seems the system isn't set up to accommodate two separate entities within the same room in that capacity.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel has all the amenities and is within walking distance to many downtown sights and great restaurants. It’s a good value, the rooms are always clean, and the hotel is full of friendly and helpful staff. It was my second stay and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank badgertraveler90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamekia M, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for writing this review! We are so pleased to hear that you appreciated our location and amenities! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

First the positive - the staff was very friendly and tried their best working around this horrible property. We have stayed at this hotel before and found it adequate However it has deteriorated to the point that we will never return. First - the valet parking had a sign saying they where full, so we parked in the self parking area. It took about 15 minutes to find a spot and then walked to the elevators only to find about 100 people waiting for the only elevator operating. Not wanting to wait the hour for it we walked around the block to check-in.

At check-in we found that our guaranteed executive king room was not available, Robert the manager did manage to find us a double room on the executive level Now came the struggle to get an elevator, with what looked like 8 elevators only a couple seemed to operate. After about 30 minutes waiting it was finally our turn. At the room the supposed WiFi was unavailable and after many complaints they tried to reboot, but to no avail. The toilet required 3 flushing s to get it to work properly and the shower went from scalding hot to freezing cold in the matter of seconds.

I cant even find the words to describe the breakfast.

Needless to say we will never use this property again. We are Hhonours gold and try to use Hilton always, but not this one.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlew76205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamekia M, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. We experienced unusually high demand for valet during your day of arrival and we apologize that you could not utilize that service. We are currently working to improve our guestroom internet experience and have shared your experience with our team. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The room was very clean and the staff was incredibly friendly, all that you'd expect in the South. The location was great. My main problem was the walls were terribly thin. We could hear every sneeze (literally) from our neighbors. The guests on the other side had children. They were never loud or rambunctious, thankfully, but we could hear and participate in conversations through the walls. I also take issue with hotels that do not provide free wi-fi throughout the building. I live and work in condos. The small associations provide free wi-fi in the buildings, I do not understand why Hilton cannot.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank trail19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamekia M, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

We’re very sorry for the noise issue you encountered during your stay at our hotel. Your comfort and safety is our number one concern, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. Thank you again for your honest feedback. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Poor attitude by staff from check in to check out. Honors members had no preference and no special treatment. Rooms were poorly equipped with coffee and clean glasses. Bath had no exhaust fan. Self parking could not take SUV's, yet no mention was made at the front door before directing you on an impossible mission and great inconvenience trying to back out of the parking deck that could not accommodate your vehicle. Do not choose this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamekia M, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

We apologize that you did not receive a true Hhonors experience during your stay. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. We are one of the only downtown hotels that offer a self-parking option, however, we do have a height limit in our parking deck. This information is listed on our website and we apologize that you were not aware in advance of your visit. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our stay here was for two nights and we were treated like royalty. If possible, try to upgrade to the executive levels--wonderful breakfasts and a quiet place to catch up. The view from our room was amazing--could see Stone Mountain in the distance. The best part about the hotel is the service--from start to finish it was stellar! Christina in the lounge made sure we had all we needed (and even helped someone with the iPhone contacts while we were there!) and always had a smile. The best was Bryan S. at the concierge desk. His knowledge of the area is extensive--he directed us to wonderful restaurants and give excellent directions for everything. He is super friendly and personable--would stay there again just to have him help us out!

Room Tip: Upgrade to executive level if you can. Much quieter and lounge is a nice perk. Rooms are spacious an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamekia M, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We are so pleased that you found our Team so accommodating and that you enjoyed your time on our Executive Level. We will be certain to share your comments with Bryan and Christina. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Atlanta!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#47 of 173 in Atlanta
3,210 reviews
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#38 of 173 in Atlanta
4,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
#48 of 173 in Atlanta
1,205 reviews
Downtown
Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center
Buckhead
Hyatt Place Atlanta/Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Atlanta

Address: 255 Courtland Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1265
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#75 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: $78 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 1249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern convention hotel, the Hilton Atlanta defies typical and embraces extraordinary in an ideal setting for business or pleasure. Positioned in the heart of downtown Atlanta, Hilton Atlanta is conveniently location near renowned attractions and premier venues and only 15 minutes from Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport. 1,249 guest rooms provide a comfortable home-base to recharge and rejuvenate, and a full range of amenities are offered to conduct business, stay fit and unwind. Known for delectable culinary delights, Hilton Atlanta features a variety of dining options including the award-winning Nikolai’s Roof and Trader Vic’s restaurants. Hilton Atlanta boasts 65 individual meetings rooms and approximately 129,000 square feet of SMART-FLO™ flexible space designed to maximize meetings and events for productivity and success. In summer, 2017 Hilton Atlanta will complete a multi-million dollar renovation consisting of enhancements to public areas, guestrooms, suites and meeting spaces. Meeting planners can expect increased flexibility and functionality with the transformation of ballroom space, as well as increased internet bandwidth to fulfill demands and expectations. A revamped Lobby will provide a captivating sense of arrival with a new front desk location and vibrant lighting. The second floor will be completely transformed as the ceiling height is raised and pillars are removed in the Grand Salon for increased flexibility and functionality. The 38,000 square-foot Galleria Exhibit Hall will be reconfigured to include breakouts, and all meeting space will feature increased internet bandwidth to fulfill meeting planners’ demands and expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing