We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Hilton Atlanta”
Review of Hilton Atlanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Atlanta
Ranked #83 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Reviewed July 12, 2008

I decided to go to Atlanta after visiting my parents in Florida. used my Hilton points for the 1st night there and got a very good rate for the 2nd night.

Pros
Location - right near Georgia Aquarium, Olympic Centenial Park, World of Coke. Lots of restaurants nearby.

Staff was great. Always willing to help.

Quick checkin/checkout.

Nikolai's bar (top floor) had a good beer selection. Not cheap but thats typical for any hotel.

Cons
Parking was difficult. Make sure to have a small car if you intend on using their self park. Garage is low and very tight. $17 / day is not too bad for a major city.

Lot of homeless people walking around at all times - as soon as you leave the hotel

TV in room needs to be replaced. Small and a fuzzy picture.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tchoiniere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,672 - 3,678 of 3,997 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2008

Ah, the eighties...this hotel seems caught right in that decade and deperately needs a makeover. The best part about the hotel is that it does have a lovely pool and exercise room. Its location isn't bad for visiting the aquarium and other attractions. But the wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling, the hairdryer was a pain to get working, and they nickel and dime you with parking fees, internet fees and the like. I'd say skip this hotel unless you get a super cheap deal and factor in the 18.00/day parking

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank morningglory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We could not have been more pleased with every aspect of our stay, from our arrival to departure. Of the hotels we have stayed at downtown, this one stands out as the best.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MEGDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2008

I just recently returned from my stay at the Hilton Atlanta. I was attending a conference there and was there with hundreds of other attendees.

I loved: the maid service- Ruby is a wonderful staff member. She always made my day and greeted me with a smile and some catchy phrase to start everyday! She is an excellent staff person. The other person I have to mention by name is David- The concierge...David runs that desk and handles the phone and greets customers with skill. He never got frustrated if you asked a billion questions and he didn't rush you through the process ever.

Now for the property itself. Everything was clean and very comfortable. The pillows are to die for!

I only had dessert there, I expected my dessert to arrive with a plate and fork- they brought a beautiful tray with flowers and the whole nine.

The only negative thing I observed was the lack of low flowing toilets. They have a placard in the room about conserving water because of the drought but their toilets fill up with so much water. I haven't seen that much water used in years!!! But, I digress, minor point but just a thought.....

Elevator use is at its peak when conventions converge, as they did when I was there....so be forewarned.

The outdoor track was nice, the gym was extremelly small- when you have that many guests, one would think it'd be a tad larger.

The staff that work the doors and navigate the traffic through the front entrance were always gracious and really knew how to get people in and out of the front circle area.

It was an ok hotel. Join the frequent stay program and you will be glad you did- smooth check in and check out!

Atlanta itself was ok.....the King Museum was cool. That was the only place I really wanted to see there. I took a cab for 8 dollars to get there and I ended up walking back.....

If you are a vegan or vegetarian, be forewarned, downtown atlanta is limited in foods you may eat. It took me forever to find a salad that didn't have meat on it. The food court at Peach Tree Center has some healthier selections for food. I was also guided to the Metro Diner which is a coupla blocks away. Great food for a great price. I went there twice during my stay. Fast service and good food.

I would write a longer more flowy review but the hotel was average at best. Good price for the room. Food is pricey. Showers were good ( nothing fancy), I don't care about the tv size as others have mentioned, and a comfortable bed.

Enjoy your stay! I did.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank peasnlov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

Hilton Atlanta is a nice place to stay downtown. There is valet and self parking. Parking is expensive, but convenient. There is a large lobby with resturants. The rooms are in need of an update, but are still nice rooms with great views of the city. The wireless Internet is expensive at $15.00 for 24 hours.

Once we parked the car, we did not go back until we left. Everything we wanted to see and go was with in walking distance. If not, there is always a cab out front waiting or the subway a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMAJINIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2008

Stayed for 5 nights in April, 2008 for a conference. Rooms were average size but bathrooms a little small. Rooms were pleasant and clean. Wireless access was pricey at about $20 for a day's use. Parking expensive as is the case with most downtown hotels I guess. I was on an upper floor and had AWESOME views of the city. Just wonderful views. Check-in was fast and staff very friendly. Located within 20 minutes from the airport.

It has several restaurants and a coffee shop. Located within a couple miles of MLK Historic Site and Jimmy Carter Presidential Library. Lots of restaurants within walking distance nearby. Aquarium within 6 blocks.

Overall, a pleasant stay and affordable rate for a downtown property but could use a little updating in rooms and common areas.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank capsfan2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2008

Maybe we were tagged with "Hotwire" and given the worst room in the place - but this hotel is awful. Even though we only paid $75 with tax for the room, I still expected a whole lot more than what we got. The room had a LOUD water pipe running through the ceiling and it ran constantly. I don't know if it was the heating and cooling system or if the person above us took a 24-hour shower, but the noise was loud enough and annoying enough to keep me from getting a decent sleep. We thought about calling to get another room, but when we walked around the floor to get ice, we could hear the noise coming from all directions.The TV was tiny and got bad reception, and the bathroom was a bit dirty and the sink drain plug was broken. The room itself was small and outdated, but at least the bed was comfortable. We had little interaction with the staff, as we checked in with the self-service kiosk. Which was great - we could choose from a few rooms and pick our own and we had our room keys in a few minutes....until it ran out of paper and we ended up waiting in the long line anyway so we could find out which room we had been assigned. Parking was expensive, but I guess that is expected in any big city. The parking deck is low, so don't drive anything bigger than a sedan unless you want to walk a few blocks to the secondary deck.

Of course, if you want to spend $18.95 for one English Muffin to be delivered to your door in the morning by all means stay here (I'm not joking). Otherwise, avoid it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AM_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#47 of 173 in Atlanta
3,210 reviews
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#38 of 173 in Atlanta
4,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
#48 of 173 in Atlanta
1,205 reviews
Downtown
Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center
Buckhead
Hyatt Place Atlanta/Buckhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Atlanta

Address: 255 Courtland Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1265
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#75 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: $78 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 1249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern convention hotel, the Hilton Atlanta defies typical and embraces extraordinary in an ideal setting for business or pleasure. Positioned in the heart of downtown Atlanta, Hilton Atlanta is conveniently location near renowned attractions and premier venues and only 15 minutes from Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport. 1,249 guest rooms provide a comfortable home-base to recharge and rejuvenate, and a full range of amenities are offered to conduct business, stay fit and unwind. Known for delectable culinary delights, Hilton Atlanta features a variety of dining options including the award-winning Nikolai’s Roof and Trader Vic’s restaurants. Hilton Atlanta boasts 65 individual meetings rooms and approximately 129,000 square feet of SMART-FLO™ flexible space designed to maximize meetings and events for productivity and success. In summer, 2017 Hilton Atlanta will complete a multi-million dollar renovation consisting of enhancements to public areas, guestrooms, suites and meeting spaces. Meeting planners can expect increased flexibility and functionality with the transformation of ballroom space, as well as increased internet bandwidth to fulfill demands and expectations. A revamped Lobby will provide a captivating sense of arrival with a new front desk location and vibrant lighting. The second floor will be completely transformed as the ceiling height is raised and pillars are removed in the Grand Salon for increased flexibility and functionality. The 38,000 square-foot Galleria Exhibit Hall will be reconfigured to include breakouts, and all meeting space will feature increased internet bandwidth to fulfill meeting planners’ demands and expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing