We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms, gloomy hallways”
Review of Hilton Atlanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Atlanta
Ranked #88 of 171 Hotels in Atlanta
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms, gloomy hallways”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at the Hilton one night for a couple of business meetings. The room was very good. Everything was clean, the bed was quite comfortable, the pillows were excellent. A couple of times I had to take the lid off the toilet tank and jiggle the flush valve to get it to shut off all the way and not make a dribbling noise (means toilet needs new flush valve). Probably 95% of guests would not have even noticed the water dripping noise, but for some reason that is a noise which can bug me when I am going to sleep. A minor maintenance issue.

There were a couple of other things that kept me from giving an "Excellent" rating:

1. The guest room hallways and central atrium area are really gloomy at night. Part of this is lighting and part is design. The atrium has some lounge areas projecting out from certain intermediate floors. But on a Sunday evening in the 8-10 PM range, no one was using those midlevel "landings," and they block the view down to (and sound up from) the ground floor. So it feels walking around like the place is totally empty and it's kind of foreboding.

2. The Trader Vic's and Nikolai's restaurants are not open 7 days a week. Seemed odd to me for an allegedly full service 4 star hotel.

3. Two of the elevators run up the outside of the building. That's cute, and gives you a skyline view, but they are very chilly when the temperature goes down.

I booked via an opaque site and for the price I would not mind if they sent me there again. It's a good hotel but there's nothing really spectacular about it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    1,207
    940
    460
    250
See reviews for
658
688
227
1,732
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife was attending a conference in Atlanta and the Hilton was chosen as her hotel. It is convenient to most things downtown, especially considering you can take the connecting skywalk between the hotels to get to Peachtree Street without having to go into the weather.
The rooms are spacious and for the most part quite. The room was clean, but noticed that our housekeeper had a wide range of times to do housekeeping such as 11 am one morning and other days at 3 pm. The later time was inconvenient.
The rooms are very pricey, over $200 per night not including about 18% in taxes. But then again no hotel in the city is cheap, you need to drive out to the I-285 beltway to find rooms under $100. Alos the restaurants at the Hilton are all overpriced for what you get. The lobby ones run about $18 to $28 and the top floor can be up to $35 to $40 per person. We walked across the skybridge to the Marriott Marquis and found a place (High Velocity) with meals in the $10 to $20 range. Thye were good.
One final note about the Atlanta Hilton as well as the other hotels, the cost of parking a car is very high, about $29 per night - ouch.

Room Tip: Don't get near the elevators. If Hilton Honors ask for the Honors floor with the free breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Had the pleasure of attending an educational conference at the hotel and it was really nice. The food at the reception was delicious and the service was awesome. Loved it. The rooms are clean and spacious.

Room Tip: Coner units are bright and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliza626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonatl, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you were pleased with your food, room and service. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was travelling in Atlanta for business in early October and neeed to stay just one night. There was a major logistics conference going on and most business hotels in downtown Atlanta were either full or very expensive. Even the Garden Inn I used to stay was selling at $350+ a night (perhaps for its proximity to the Convention Center). I was happily surprised when I found a kingbed room at the Hilton which was just 2/3 of that price.

Yes, the hotel was a bit tired, bland and dull. But the room was clean and comfortable enough or a good night's sleep. My room was quite spacious but the bathroom was unproportionately small. Yet everything worked just fine for me. It may not be up to par with the best Hiltons but certainly comparable to the Garden Inns and better than the DoubleTrees. Would be nice if they offer some perks to the loyal HHonors members such as free in-room Wifi.

Room Tip: Higher floors should be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonatl, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your time in the area. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you found some deficiencies while staying with us. . Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I hate to complain, but although this is a great hotel in almost every aspect (and you probably do not expect less from a hilton), I was exteremely disappointed with the service.

I wanted to buy a couple of things online and ship them to the hotel, so I called the hotel a couple of weeks before my stay, and asked them how this can be done. They gave me the address of the hotel, and told me that all I need to do is to ship to that address. The packages arrived just fine.

BUT....
After I checked out I found out (a bit too late) that I was charged 30$ for "package handling". It is certainly outrageous that they neglected to tell me that I would have to pay such a large hangling fee.
I wrote to the hotel, but more than 10 days have passed and they didn't bother to respond.

This bad service simply ruined my impression of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TalMizrahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonatl, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were unhappy with some of the charges. I apologize if the charges were not clear when you made the arrangement, but I will be sure to address our team members in regard to your situation. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we apologize for the miscommunication. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlanta hotels

Callington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Usual Hilton offer, huge hotel, you feel like you are staying in a rabbit warren. However the room was spacious and clean and no complaints there other than I could hear the traffic a bit from the motorways below ( I was on floor 15). They are expensive, I was on a conference rate of $200 dollar a night but when you come to check out there was another $295 in taxes!! Not right they should quote the rate per night inclusive!. I went for breakafast which is a buffet and it is $18 which is pricey but then again Tax on top plus tip means you are paying about $24 for breakfast which is nothing special. There is a Starbucks in the lobby where you could eat cheaper however I dont trust their food as I asked for a breakfast biscuit with egg and sausage but when I bit into the sausage was still frozen!!! OK but in summary, pricey, clean and bland.

Room Tip: Try to get one at the back facing the pool it may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VES11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Starting with the positives, the rooms had very comfortable beds, and sound was well insulated - so full marks for sleep quality. Other positive is that there are eight elevators, so you rarely had to wait very long for one.

Often I go for much cheaper hotels, so the above factors would be more than enough to keep me happy. But given I'm paying Hilton rates here, and I'm a Hilton Gold, I expect something a bit more. Sadly that was not forthcoming.

The rooms - and especially the miniscule bathroom - were way below normal Hilton sizes. Reasonable but not generous work space in the room itself. In the bathroom, the bathroom door comes right up to the toilet bowl. Very basic decor, sloppy paint jobs on walls, and scratched furniture - all gave an air of a lack of care. There are several bar/restaurants in the hotel but they are quite ludicrously overpriced and pretty poor quality.

The location is convenient for conferences/businesses in the downtown area, but it's a couple of blocks going past aggressive beggars to get to the local metro station and other amenities. And even those are non-existent on weekends. It's not enjoyable to get to anything outside the hotel, to be honest. I know you probably get similar situations in other areas of Atlanta, but it added to the disappointment of this experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unspecified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#41 of 171 in Atlanta
3,090 reviews
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#38 of 171 in Atlanta
3,879 reviews
Downtown
Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
#45 of 171 in Atlanta
1,043 reviews
Ellis Hotel
#47 of 171 in Atlanta
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Atlanta

Property: Hilton Atlanta
Address: 255 Courtland Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1265
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#75 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 1249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern convention hotel, the Hilton Atlanta defies typical and embraces extraordinary in an ideal setting for business or pleasure. Positioned in the heart of downtown Atlanta, Hilton Atlanta is conveniently location near renowned attractions and premier venues and only 15 minutes from Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport. 1,249 guest rooms provide a comfortable home-base to recharge and rejuvenate, and a full range of amenities are offered to conduct business, stay fit and unwind. Known for delectable culinary delights, Hilton Atlanta features a variety of dining options including the award-winning Nikolai’s Roof and Trader Vic’s restaurants. Hilton Atlanta boasts 65 individual meetings rooms and approximately 129,000 square feet of SMART-FLO™ flexible space designed to maximize meetings and events for productivity and success. In summer, 2017 Hilton Atlanta will complete a multi-million dollar renovation consisting of enhancements to public areas, guestrooms, suites and meeting spaces. Meeting planners can expect increased flexibility and functionality with the transformation of ballroom space, as well as increased internet bandwidth to fulfill demands and expectations. A revamped Lobby will provide a captivating sense of arrival with a new front desk location and vibrant lighting. The second floor will be completely transformed as the ceiling height is raised and pillars are removed in the Grand Salon for increased flexibility and functionality. The 38,000 square-foot Galleria Exhibit Hall will be reconfigured to include breakouts, and all meeting space will feature increased internet bandwidth to fulfill meeting planners’ demands and expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing