We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room/amenities, poor service.”
Review of Hilton Atlanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Atlanta
Ranked #92 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Room/amenities, poor service.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Lack of HIlton'ness.

Check in took about 15-20 minutes at 8:00pm is very unacceptable.

No apology or any consideration from the front desk was given or shown.

Room was clean, nice size.

Room service though seems to be the afterthought of the hotel.

Ordered room service, asked a few simple questions about items on the menu, and the person on the phone (older lady) didn't seem to be knowledgeable about the menu.
When asking about recommendations on the menu, or some local flare, the employee told me to refer to the menu. Again, being my first time to the hotel, I was hoping for some assistance with ordering my dinner.
Was quoted up to 30 minutes for delivery of my dinner.
I called down about 40 minutes later to find out the status of my order.
Was told that Musa was already on his way up.
5 minutes later dinner arrived.
Musa seemed very annoyed and irritated by what seems to be his job.
Again, no sense of customer service or a simple apology shown by Musa for being late.
Would've been nice to get a phone call about the status of my dinner instead of me having to contact Room Service.
No accountability at this hotel, maybe lack of management at night or simply lack of leadership.

For future consideration, maybe consider adding decaffeinated teas for the 27th floor lounge.

Long day of traveling, and I simply wanted to check in, relax, have dinner and get some sleep for another busy day, but the hotel failed at that.

Stayed one night, October 2, 2012

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngraabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonatl, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences that you endured. We will make the necessary corrections to prevent this from happening in the future. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    1,195
    935
    452
    249
See reviews for
647
684
220
1,715
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I decided on a last minute road trip to Atlanta last weekend. We found a great "unpublished hotel name" rate on a popular travel website which we thought we'd take a chance on given we knew it was a 4-star hotel in downtown Atlanta. We certainly weren't dissapointed when it came through that it was the Hilton Downtown. The view from our room on the 21st floor was great (I am a sucker for a good view). The room itself was so so. I'm not a big fan of large hotel chains who cater for the masses (I much prefer smaller boutique type hotels) but I certainly couldn't complain with the rate that we got. On the last day of our trip we visited a suburb called Buckhead...If I were to visit again this is where I would stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark-english1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a wedding at Park Tavern and it was overall a nice stay. The whole look is modern and clean. The price is pretty standard for the location..it is close to everything! The lobby is huge and the rooms size is just right. Parking stinks..the garage was pretty much full so it took forever to find a spot and of course it still costs $21..I should've listened to previous reviews recommending to valet! When I got there everything was closed except for a snack bar which also sells beer and wine. Their food was pretty limited..but that is to be expected as it is 24/7. Also be prepared to pay Disney world prices. I paid about 25 for a 6-pack of sam adams. I am not complaining about it though bc it saved me a trip to a bar :) Their bedding and pillows are actually pretty comfortable I just felt the bed was shorter than normal. Besides that the place was great and I loved the location!

Room Tip: Valet..the parking was no fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdamian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great stay with the family. Hotels have a lot of activites such as tennis, basketball, and a track. I can not wait to plan a romantic night here with just my husband no kids and enjoy the bars.There are several dinning choices through out the hotel.

Room Tip: Valet park its easier than self parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinaCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Nice hotel on the outside and inside, even the rooms are modern. I like they way it looks but not worth paying full price for a room here. Staff is friendly and vetted, food is good and location is also good too. Room size is standard for the most part and since the building is not too tall, it doesn't take too long to get to your floor.

Room Tip: All depends on what kind of budget you are willing to work with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericsansone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have stayed here numerous times, location is grand, you can walk to Hard Rock for a drink late at night with no problems, or catch a cab to several other great places. Valets are always ever so nice as is the rest of the staff. Lobby bar is good. Always clean, this time we spent 4 nights there on the executive floor for an awesome rate, thanks Hilton, see you next time!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dogdayzing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonatl, Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I'm excited to hear you enjoyed your staycation with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is a bit dated overall but my room was clean and there were no problems. My neighbors were noisy the last night and I called downstairs. In minutes security rectified the situation and management sent me a letter apologizing for the incident. I appreciated that very much.

As a Gold member I received breakfast in the restaurant in the lobby which was very good. The chef really takes pride in his omelets which is a pleasure.

The best part of the hotel for me was the sky bridge to the nearby Marriott where I was attending a conference.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getachkaraoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#39 of 173 in Atlanta
3,066 reviews
Downtown
Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#36 of 173 in Atlanta
3,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
#47 of 173 in Atlanta
1,007 reviews
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#45 of 173 in Atlanta
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Atlanta

Property: Hilton Atlanta
Address: 255 Courtland Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1265
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#76 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 1249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern convention hotel, the Hilton Atlanta defies typical and embraces extraordinary in an ideal setting for business or pleasure. Positioned in the heart of downtown Atlanta, Hilton Atlanta is conveniently location near renowned attractions and premier venues and only 15 minutes from Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport. 1,249 guest rooms provide a comfortable home-base to recharge and rejuvenate, and a full range of amenities are offered to conduct business, stay fit and unwind. Known for delectable culinary delights, Hilton Atlanta features a variety of dining options including the award-winning Nikolai’s Roof and Trader Vic’s restaurants. Hilton Atlanta boasts 65 individual meetings rooms and approximately 129,000 square feet of SMART-FLO™ flexible space designed to maximize meetings and events for productivity and success. In summer, 2017 Hilton Atlanta will complete a multi-million dollar renovation consisting of enhancements to public areas, guestrooms, suites and meeting spaces. Meeting planners can expect increased flexibility and functionality with the transformation of ballroom space, as well as increased internet bandwidth to fulfill demands and expectations. A revamped Lobby will provide a captivating sense of arrival with a new front desk location and vibrant lighting. The second floor will be completely transformed as the ceiling height is raised and pillars are removed in the Grand Salon for increased flexibility and functionality. The 38,000 square-foot Galleria Exhibit Hall will be reconfigured to include breakouts, and all meeting space will feature increased internet bandwidth to fulfill meeting planners’ demands and expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing