We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent center city hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Atlanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Atlanta
Ranked #92 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Richmond
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent center city hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Nice stay. Central to downtown Atlanta, which is pretty quiet on weekends and evenings. Convenient to MARTA and not far from sites. Hotel is pretty, rooms are comfortable. I don't think it adds to anyone's decision-making process to say whether a desk agent looked at them crookedly or that there was a scratch on a nightstand, so I will forego that silliness. The staff is professional, the restaurant served a nice breakfast. I thought this was more civilized than the ggantic Marriott across the street.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GinnyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    1,126
    887
    424
    229
See reviews for
600
649
208
1,617
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We've stayed here several times now. Three times for DragonCon alone. The hotel itself is nicely decorated. The updates to the rooms have definitely improved the overall experience. The spacious bathrooms are a huge plus, and the beds are, well, exceptional! I must admit that the staff can seem a bit abrasive. The service in the lobby restaurant could be improved upon most definitely. I wish I could blame the convention crowds for these issues, but we've stayed here at other times and found it to be much the same. The location is very convenient to all of downtown.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgolddragon2k6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

lately I have been traveling and from my past stays I can tell you that compared to others its pretty good. They don't have a pool but I don't care for them anyways.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank d0wdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonatl, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We're happy you enjoyed your stay. Even though you don't care for pools, we invite you to enjoy the sunshine on our pool deck on the 3rd floor next time you visit. It's located next to our tennis courts. Be safe in your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

My wife and I planned a date night and stayed downtown Atlanta! The Hilton was a great choice because of the location or proximatey to everything! Well, this Hilton didn't disappoint! From the beginning the valet staff was very attentive and professional. Valet was full, but they took the time to explain the situation and guide us to a solution. We decided to self park and catch the elevator up.....We met Richard at the front desk and he quickly took care of us, checked us in and we were on our way. The room was very nice with a great view....we really had a relaxing, enjoyable date.....We ordered room service and the food arrived quickly and tasted great! Great Job Hilton ATL!

Room Tip: Get a floor above the 15th floor.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klhawkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherry grove
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Downtown Atlanta Hilton hotel serves more business people than families but it is very disappointing to only have an outside swimming pool.

We stayed here on a discounted hotwire special of around sixty-five plus fees, but if I had known, I would have paid the extra for one of the hotels with an indoor pool, or heated outside pool.

The have interviewed kids who go to Disney to ask what is their favorite part of the park, and the answer comes back....the hotel pool!

Luxurious place, and no other problems for us.

It's still a long walk to the Citypass attractions. Parking was an extra $21.

But the problem was, too cold to swim outside in January 2012.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank cherrygrovebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is a fairly typical downtown Hilton. The room was nice and large. The executive lounge has a wonderful atrium with large windows looking out. It was a great place to eat breakfast / have cocktails. The hotel was quiet. Again, they essentially did everything quite well. The front desk seemed a little lightly staffed, but it wasn't bad. I really disliked that they didn't trust me with actual glass glasses or ceramic mugs. Really? You think a Diamond Member is either going to break or steal these? The flimsy plastic cups wrapped in plastic weren't even as nice as the ones you get at the Hampton Inn. Again, that's about all I could really complain about. There's nothing around the hotel, so you'd better have a car or be prepared to take a cab anywhere. I guess I'd stay here again, but it didn't stand out.

Room Tip: Pay more for a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seawall77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonatl, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your experience. For our guest's convenience and sanitation concerns, we now provide plastic drinking cups in our guest rooms instead of ceramic. However, we have taken note of your feedback regarding the quality of the cups and that will be addressed accordingly. Thank you for your review. It is through this forum that we are able to continue to improve our services and amenities to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Our recent stay at the Hilton Atlanta exceeded our expectations. This is an older property but everything we experienced was updated and modern. The renovated lobby was very nice and we enjoyed both the lobby bar and the convenience store. Our room was spacious, very clean and had a nice view . This property is not the closest to the area attractions Georgia Dome, Phillips Arena, World of Coke etc. but it is walkable. We attended events at both the Dome and Phillips Arena and we took at cab to the venues (up hill) and walked back (down hill). It is a quick and inexpensive cab ride.

The hotel garage was full when we arrived so we were unable to valet but we were able to park in a secure garage on the same block. We got a very good rate on our stay and as the title says our stay exceeded our expectations. We would definately stay here again when traveling to Atlanta.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Lite4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonatl, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Atlanta, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. Please be sure to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay comfortable during your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Atlanta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Atlanta Marriott Marquis
#41 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#37 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Sheraton Atlanta Hotel
#28 of 172 in Atlanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Atlanta Hotel at CNN Center
Hyatt Regency Atlanta
#35 of 172 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Atlanta

Property: Hilton Atlanta
Address: 255 Courtland Street NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1265
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#76 Business Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 1249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern convention hotel, the Hilton Atlanta defies typical and embraces extraordinary in an ideal setting for business or pleasure. Positioned in the heart of downtown Atlanta, Hilton Atlanta is conveniently location near renowned attractions and premier venues and only 15 minutes from Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport. 1,249 guest rooms provide a comfortable home-base to recharge and rejuvenate, and a full range of amenities are offered to conduct business, stay fit and unwind. Known for delectable culinary delights, Hilton Atlanta features a variety of dining options including the award-winning Nikolai’s Roof and Trader Vic’s restaurants. Hilton Atlanta boasts 65 individual meetings rooms and approximately 129,000 square feet of SMART-FLO™ flexible space designed to maximize meetings and events for productivity and success. In summer, 2017 Hilton Atlanta will complete a multi-million dollar renovation consisting of enhancements to public areas, guestrooms, suites and meeting spaces. Meeting planners can expect increased flexibility and functionality with the transformation of ballroom space, as well as increased internet bandwidth to fulfill demands and expectations. A revamped Lobby will provide a captivating sense of arrival with a new front desk location and vibrant lighting. The second floor will be completely transformed as the ceiling height is raised and pillars are removed in the Grand Salon for increased flexibility and functionality. The 38,000 square-foot Galleria Exhibit Hall will be reconfigured to include breakouts, and all meeting space will feature increased internet bandwidth to fulfill meeting planners’ demands and expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hilton Hotels Direct and Orbitz so you can book your Hilton Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Atlanta Hotel Atlanta
Atlanta Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing