We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cellar 56 - CLOSED

Cellar 56
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cains Hill Ave
Description: Located in the heart of Buckhead, Cellar 56's delectable menu is complemented by the flavorful selection of wines. Every palate is accommodated with the menu broken into food categories to include Land, Sea, Garden, and Sweets, each priced $5-$7. Cellar 56 works with local farms and dairies to bring the best and freshest ingredients to the table. Many of the wine selections are sourced from boutique wineries on small allocation to bring Spectator rated 90+ wines to the consumer starting at $24 a bottle and by the glass at $3 half and $6 full. The remaining wine choices are available by the bottle and include many favorites at various pricing.
ATLANTA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We went to Cellar 56 because we had a coupon. It is tucked into a strip shopping center with no frontage, so you really need to know where you are going. the restaurant is comfortably dark, with a big bar, and comfortable tables, the back wall decorated with wine bottles. At first the piped in music was intrusive, but they did turn it down. Our server was very pleasant and helpful. The small plates were clearly prepared to order (there was a bit of a wait) but the risotto, salad, and reported to me (I'm a vegetarian) that the lamb chops, mussels and calamari were also delicious. Dont miss the beautifully sauteed green beans. The wine list was interesting and the pours generous. We really had a delightful time, except for the fact that they didn't have coffee! The server said that she has been asking them to include that. We will go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    2
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Villa Rica, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent, excellent, excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Need I say more....went on a Groupon and was allowed anything on the menu. The lamb was exquisite! The shrimp ceviche was awesome! The service was incredible and the prices were more than reasonable. Just go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food is good, service is awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My friends and I booked a reservation here for July 18, 2013 to celebrate a birthday. We were excited to try a new place and the menu looked really great. I have to say that the food was really good and all of us loved everything we ordered. The strawberry salad, spicy mac and cheese, and BBQ eggrolls were standouts. Unfortunately, none of us ever want to return because the service was unbelievably bad. We waited a combined total of an hour for our orders to be taken, our food to come out (it is a tapas restaurant, so food can take a little longer, but this took even longer than tapas should), and for our check to come. They did seem a little shorthanded (even though the restaurant is probably 20 tables max and maybe half of them were seated, with three people available who could have waited tables) but when a server checks on surrounding tables several times without so much as a glance to your own table, you feel like it's a little personal. We had to ask for water refills several times and waited so long for our check that one of us went to the bar to ask for it. In doing so, we were met with rude responses. Finally, our check came. We didn't even ask for split checks as we were using a Scoutmob deal. That seemed to add another level of confusion for our server, yet she was the one who asked us of we wanted to use it! Four of us used cash and one of us used a card. The friend who used a card was charged for an incorrect amount, resulting in us waiting yet again for this mistake to be corrected. At that point, we all wondered aloud if the server was being rude on purpose. To top it all off, our friend was charged twice, once for the incorrect amount and again for the correct amount, of which we didn't find out about until the next day. Personally, I never tip below 20%, as I know tips are a server's livelihood. This time, I barely tipped 15% on my total. It is a shame because all 5 of us agreed that Cellar 56 could be a Buckhead gem, but none of us will ever be back because of the extremely sub-par service

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I just don't get this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Out of 6 small plates and 4 glasses of wine, we had one wine that was drinkable and 1 small plate that was edible. The red wine risotto was good. The "famous" short rib was like shoe leather. It was not a short rib; it was a hunk of stringy dry chuck roast with no bone. Fried green tomato was a THIN slice of tomato...thinner than a pickle slice...with 10x batter. I could go on, but $100 could have had us happy at Ruth's Chris. Just sayin...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joe g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

First visit here with team and it is amazing place to dine. I loved the variety of cuisines it offered and could try a a lot of options at a very reasonable cost. The portion was small so low cost but it gave me an option to try a variety of dishes. My favorite has been the chops.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aravind-Chamakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cellar 56 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing