We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Location - Amazing Tastynation!!!”
Review of Nick's Food to Go

Nick's Food to Go
Ranked #582 of 3,958 Restaurants in Atlanta
Cuisines: Greek
Description: Local, no-frills Greek favorites to go! This place has some serious flavor and personality. Zip code 30312, restaurant phone: (404) 521-2220
Restaurant details
Description: Local, no-frills Greek favorites to go! This place has some serious flavor and personality. Zip code 30312, restaurant phone: (404) 521-2220
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Funky Location - Amazing Tastynation!!!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Yes, as you drive by to find this place, you may think that someone played a trick with you, or fool you. You double check your GPS and yet, this is the place! A basic little restaurant, in the middle of no fancy land, the building looks deceiving but wait, go ahead, park your car and get inside this restaurant because you have just arrive to one of the best Greek places in Atlanta.

Family owned and operated, in fact only the family works there, you will see them each day, greeting you while multitasking and crafting some of the best Greek dishes you can have.

Keep in mind, this is not your fancy place to impress someone so don't try this for a first date, unless you are really trying to make a point or have a master plan behind, but definitely a place to go for lunch, take your food home or simply enjoy it during a nice weather on their outdoor patio.

Best dish for me is the Souvlaki, with the Greek style potatoes and salad, unless of course is Thursday and you may want to get in line for their amazing Pasticcio, better known as Greek Lasagna.

So give them a try and you may just found your new Greek fix in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Turangi, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fresh authentic Greek food”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you like fresh, authentic Greek food then this is the place for you.
Don't let the exterior frighten you, just go and order.
There is no place to eat inside.
There are four tables set up outside.
This more of a get your food and take it with you sort of place.
I had the lamb gyro all the way.
Also had the baklava.
Best gyro, best baklava I have ever had.
He also makes Greek lasagna. I will try that next time.
Nick is a great guy and so is his family.
Love this place and can't wait to go back to Atlanta and eat here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelchic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“OH MY GOD”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you want a GREAT Gyro you got to stop by here the owner operator will serve you his dang wife will cook it for you this guy is a nut no he's a great guy the place is a dump but neat looking got pinic tables 2 to sit at outside but the Gyro is out of this world I got Lamb. Best Gyro i have ever had and I have had them almost everywhere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank compassion691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Gyro Ever!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

This is exactly what I look for when I scour ATL for its best food and I feel like the general public agrees; no frills, great value, authentic ethnic food, and a Greek family's matriarch on the line making the best gyro ever. Add in the gravel parking lot, 2 outdoor picnic table dining room, and downtown MLK address and what you've got is a food find cool enough for hipsters, authentic enough to have every Greek person in ATL at the window, and epically delicious enough so that foodie or no foodie, you'll crave this place every day until you go back. Enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RSBXLIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Delicious Surprise”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This place was suggested by a friend who lives near Nick's and it did not disappoint! It's strickly for to-go orders but the gyros were terrific and well worth the stop. We were warned about Nick but he wasn't anywhere to be found.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyK76837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Food to Go also viewed

 

Been to Nick's Food to Go? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing