We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Airport Venue”

Sweet Georgia's Juke Joint
Reserve with OpenTable
Sweet Georgia's Juke Joint is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 3,947 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ellis
Description: Join the celebration for the new musically-influenced restaurant, Sweet Georgia's Juke Joint. Decorated with album covers from the 1970s, Sweet Georgia's Juke Joint is a funky and fun setting where customers can relive happy memories. Juke box tunes from four decades the 1960s, 1970s, 1980s and 1990stake patrons back to days of the past. And southern-inspired dishes range from The Famous Seadog, which is battered cod fish served on a hotdog bun and topped with coleslaw, to our signature Bar-B-Q Pork Rib Basket, which includes half a rack of lip-smacking ribs.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1,110 reviews
591 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Good Airport Venue”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Looking around for something not unhealthy and sit down seemed tough...found this after the neon and self-service of the burger place or a bar seemed like my only choice...but pleasantly surprised...had the flatiron steak...prepared properly...asked for no toast and to change out the potatoes, and served in a pleasant and efficient manner...did not go hungry and was happy to find this place...would return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PlatinumHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    245
    84
    36
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Arkansas, USA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in on a business trip and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and friendliness of the staff. Atmosphere was nice as well. Would recommend to others.

Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
120 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Decent food, LOUD music”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Food - decent but pricey. $20 for shrimp and grits? I don't know if this is standard for Atlanta - I'm from Chicago - but this dish was definitely NOT worth that much. It was good, but not great. The fried green tomatoes were also okay - basically they tasted like fried anything with cheese and some sort of sauce.

More importantly, the band is LOUD. Don't plan on having any sort of conversation during dinner. Also be prepared for an electric guitar rendition of the Star Spangled Banner, which is just what everyone wants to hear during a meal out with friends. I was not happy that I paid a $5 "entertainment fee" for the band - I most certainly was NOT entertained - as well as an 18% mandatory gratuity. My total came to $50 and I thought this was wayyyy to much for mediocre food and a total lack of ambiance.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank momdaughter2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzgerald, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of those chance encounters you are grateful for”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I were walking down Peachtree Street looking for something different. We decided to give them a try. Live jazz with Sunday Brunch. Chicken and Waffles. Shrimp and Grits. Best Bloody Mary ever. Servers were professional and very affable. Manager on duty stopped by table to check and chat. Shared recipe particulars. Blues videos during break. All around a happy dining experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A taste of the south on Peachtree Street”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I had a meeting in downtown Atlanta and was delighted to find the Sweet Georgia Juke Joint in the old Macy's building (200 Peachtree St). The surprisingly large interior space has an authentic juke joint feel as jazz and blues was piped over the audio system. As a blues music lover this was great and added to the overall ambiance.

The menu is purely Southern. Fried green tomatoes, fried okra, fried chicken, Vidalia onions and more grace the menu. You can also get sweet tea and, although we did not partake of the adult libations at lunch, they do serve moonshine drinks if you are so inclined.

The wait staff was well trained, attentive and polite. Our small business group (five people) had a private room which allowed for a productive business discussion.

Cool place with great Southern food and nice atmosphere. I look forward to going back at night to hear the live music. Definitely worth the trip if you want something more than franchise food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atljpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Georgia's Juke Joint also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Georgia's Juke Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing