We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Bar B Q you wish your mama made its beyond finger licking great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heirloom Market

Heirloom Market
2243 Akers Mill Road, Atlanta, GA
7706122502
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 3,796 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Korean, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Takeout
Description: Powers Ferry Road dead ends into Akers Mill Road near an access road adjacent to Interstate 285 West. Heirloom Market does not have a visible sign near the road but it is located next to a convenience store in a very small aging parking lot.
Marietta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bar B Q you wish your mama made its beyond finger licking great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Forget Memphis or Texas or North Carolina and Kansas City this joint beats all rib joints anywhere in any city on any planet .

Stand in line step up to the cashier and begin your palates journey to ecstasy .

Brisket is so meaty so juicy and so tender you want to shake the cow and the rancher for giving your tummy a meat erection .. Ribs tender, pink and perfectly Bar B Qued in need of no sauce other than your watery lip smack ..

Every bite is summer sunshine and sweet smoke . Best Ribs and I have ribbed out all over the USA... Best brisket and my jewish mama makes a mean one but nothing as delectable as this joint...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank franklinet l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    44
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
everywhere
Level Contributor
87 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Jal Meokkesseumnida = "Bon Appetit" in Korean I think....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Wow! this was a gem of an experience. The brisket platter with Korean Sweet Potato chips and kim chee slaw and pickes....OMG!!
No joke, no exaggeration, it was the best bbq I have ever eaten in my life!!!
That "HotLanta" sauce was lip-smacking good!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shreemaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Level Contributor
201 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best in Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

It seems that you can't miss at Heirloom - brisket, pulled pork, ribs, coleslaw, beans, sweet potato fries, sauces - all qualify for best in show. I agree with the other reviews: brilliant Korean spice twist on Southern BBQ. Be aware that no beer is served. The wait lines may be long but the service is quick and polite.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GSSATLANTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent fusion of traditional BBQ with a Korean flare.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Ive been here two times in 48 hours. The first time was around 1:30pm on Thursday afternoon and it was jam packed with a line out the door into the parking lot. Fortunately, the weather was nice and I wasn't in a rush to get back to my office. The crowd consisted of people in suits and ties, blue collar workers and a few families. The place is very small and you might be standing up while eating, but the food is awesome. I had the pork platter with mac & cheese and Korean sweet potatoes. For $11, its quite a lot of food. For those that like to lather on their own sauces, they have bottles of various types to choose from. The Korean BBQ sauce and the Hotlanta sauces were my personal favorites.

If you are going for a slightly healthier option, try the BBQ turkey or BBQ chicken with a side of their baked beans and a non-fried Korean dish. On my 2nd trip, I had pickled beets and cucumber slices. The sweetness of my side dish counter-balanced the spicy sauces I used to coat my chicken. Overall, a fantastic option but be sure to exercise patience with finding a seat and a parking space.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeisureGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best barbecue spot in Atlanta...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Heirloom Market is a tiny restaurant that shares a building with an old school convenience store. It has one communal table that seats about eight people and a small shelf around the walls that you can eat at. Also there are counters outdoors if the weather is nice. The food is good beyond belief. The barbecue is a mixture of southern and Asian. I haven't had anything here that wasn't ridiculously above standard. The pork is great and the smoked turkey is possibly the juciest, most tender piece of meat on the planet. The sides are really good too. My favorites are the kimchee cole slaw and the korean sweet potato chips. There are numerous sauces on the tables to choose from. At lunch rush the parking lot overflows and you often have to park on the shoulder of the road. The line is long, but it moves fast. If possible it is best to visit during non-rush hours, but if that isn't possible go anyway and dive into the experience. Be ready to order when you get to the front. The seats turn over quickly too, and as crowded as it is I have never had a problem finding a seat once I have ordered.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank saintrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heirloom Market also viewed

 

Been to Heirloom Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing