We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse
Ranked #33 of 290 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The home of the Atlanta Shakespeare Company, the Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse on Peachtree Street has an enchanting history and a prime location in downtown Atlanta. We are a professional theatre with food and drinks available before each performance (and don't forget the apple crisp at intermission!)
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Loved it!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was the second time we visited The Shakespeare Tavern, the first time was amazing and last night's performance was excellent! We saw A Midsummer Night's Dream on the closing night and the house was packed, the food was great, the actors and actresses were hilarious and did a great job in character. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Atlanta.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Killian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    67
    20
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Dream for Midsummer”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place is an absolute gem. Shakespeare performed as the bard himself intended. The company is professional and serious. The text is treated with complete respect by the excellent young cast. This time I saw A Midsummer Night's Dream and it was one of the best productions of the play I have ever seen.

Most of the audience arrives a hour before the performance in order to bag seats - no seat reservations - and use the time to eat and drink. The food is good tavern food and there is a fine selection of draft beers. In all honesty the food isn't the reason for going there but it is perfectly good and served with a smile by the volunteer "groundlings".

If you have even the slightest interest in the theatre The Atlanta Shakespeare Tavern is a must-do for any visit to the city.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank IanTunnacliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Midsummer Night's Hilarity”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Friend of mine and I went to see A Midsummer Night's Dream at the Shakespeare Tavern. Was our first experience at the playhouse, but will definitely not be the last. Play was hysterical. Actors were top notch and the theatre is cozy with great seating. I read ahead of time that they served food, but was surprised how tasty it was-and reasonably priced. All in all, a very fun evening. Can't wait to come back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank davisj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Actors and Food very good”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The actors were very good here and we enjoyed the food. We got there early and got a good seat. We did not enjoy the play, but we just didn't get the humor. That was our fault, not the fault of the actors. We were able to catch a cab after the show very quickly. Food was nice portions and the homemade bread was fabulous. Scenery and costumes very good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Moomduck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Getting close to Shakespeare”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This small theatre gives you an intimate look at the Bard's play. Excellent actors, innovative production, and very good food. There's a tiny shop in the lobby with interesting wares. On top of that, it is not expensive. Mostly good family entertainment, although it can be a little bawdy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Seni0r_Citizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing