We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening”

The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse
Ranked #32 of 291 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The home of the Atlanta Shakespeare Company, the Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse on Peachtree Street has an enchanting history and a prime location in downtown Atlanta. We are a professional theatre with food and drinks available before each performance (and don't forget the apple crisp at intermission!)
Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great evening”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Saw As You LIke It, and enjoyed the play. Had the tomato soup and zuchinni bread for supper - excellent choice.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank AgileTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    67
    20
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
in the Big Apple
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue - Shakespeare and Food”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Saw "As You Like It" in small wood lined room with hot + cold food for purchase + alcohol in back. Actors were exceptional and setting so intimate. Got to talk to artistic director too.

Helpful?
Thank marre5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightfully unexpected”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I discovered Shakespeare Tavern quite by accident this past April. I had planned a trip to Atlanta with the intention of seeing a concert. The show sold out before I could secure tickets, but my hotel was already booked. I decided to look for other ways to spend a Saturday evening in Atlanta, and couldn't resist checking out a performance of Much Ado About Nothing.

Shakespeare and Strongbow on tap - honestly, I don't think I need much else to be happy.

However, this establishment is so much more than that.

The performance was wonderful. The Atlanta Shakespeare Company did a fantastic job with one of Shakespeare's funniest, most fast-paced comedies.

The tavern serves excellent food, all freshly prepared in-house, and the aforementioned Strongbow is one of many options available to slake your thirst.

The venue is small, and the tables are close together, and while I usually don't enjoy sitting so close to strangers, something about this occasion - the play, the food, the drink - made it more enjoyable, more like a true Elizabethan experience, than a vast hall would allow.

Get there early to get a great seat, but don't fret if you don't. There really are no bad seats.

I have been recommending this playhouse to everyone, because it really is a rare treat to see a truly professional performance in such a charming atmosphere.

I have already booked my tickets for Twelfth Night on the final weekend in July. Can't wait!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Romy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This place is great for those who love to watch plays. I watched on Sunday evening and there was a good crowd and atmosphere. The actors were great and the play was also good. I am not going to comment on food as I did not have any. Also the play was kinda long (2 and half hours) but that is expected from Shakespeare play. Great place to go for a date.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pak D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Bargain theater!”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This theater group is top notch! And a bargain for entertainment, as well as dining. Seating is first come/first served for each section. Also meal service is discontinued before the performance begins, so be sure to arrive 30-45 minutes before show time. Meal service is self-serve, limited, but the selections are all good. They have a bar, quite a few selections of beer and wine. It is quite casual, but still professional.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JennATl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Shakespeare Tavern Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing