We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could give it more stars!”

Starlight Six Drive-In
Ranked #13 of 58 Fun & Games in Atlanta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Going to the Starlight Six Drive-In Theater is like taking a step back in time.  You turn off your headlights, tune the movie in to your car radio and kick back and enjoy movies on the really big screen.
Delran, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wish I could give it more stars!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

One of the best times I have had with the family. We went on a Saturday night and it was a bit crowded. The line for snack was pretty long as well. However, not the least of an issue, considering it cost us $14 admission (FOR TWO MOVIES! WOW!) and $5 for popcorn. We paid less than $20 for an amazing time. It really brings you back to when life was much simpler. Drive-in theatres are becoming obsolete and this one pastime that I would love to see survive. This place should be top 10 attractions in Atlanta.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Haydar37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    37
    10
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always fun”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Since there are very few drive ins left in the US, you should consider this a fun historic event for you, the family or a special date. Its so much fun!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jensees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Digital Screens - Americana- Best deal”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Go see a science fiction double feature in your own car. Bring your own snacks. Have a cook out if you like. Adults $7 for 2 movies, kids are $3. Only issue is restrooms leave ALOT to be desired. Shows start time is based on the sun - later into summer the later the movies start. Its a lot of fun. I am glad I have been able to share this American experience with my family. Worth the drive - just plan to sleep in the next day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Family fun”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

One of my VERY FAVORITE things to do in this city is...go with a big group to the Starlite and cookout before the movie. Geez...it's soooo much fun! Where on earth can you do this other than right here! Get the gang together, grab your grills and some big folding tables, load up the covered dishes, the cooler, popcorn 7 desserts. Take the frisbee and jumpropes for the kids & some folding chairs . This is a party waiting to happen. If you totally can't agree on a movie screen, then drive to another after the cookout is done. Advise...be there when the gates open to get rollin and done eating before the movie starts! Oh, and they have KING OF POPS in the concession stand!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norcross
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun Flashback”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

this is something that everyone should experience. It is retro to enjoy a movie in your vehicle with your family or friends. It allows you to remember the simpler times

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelguy5335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starlight Six Drive-In also viewed

 

Been to Starlight Six Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing