We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway
Ranked #12 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 2, 2011

My family (including myself, my wife, and my two daughters, ages 6 years and 6 months) did the Stay and Fly package which allows you to stay at the hotel the night prior to departure, park your car in the covered garage, check out the next day and leave the vehicle in the garage during your trip. We stayed on a Friday night, flew to Florida on Saturday morning, and left the car there until we returned the following Saturday evening. It was a great deal for $129!

The hotel is really nice, updated, and comfortable. Very high tech. Flat screen LCD TVs in the lobby, restaurant, and in the rooms. No problems with airport noise with sound protective windows. The beds are amazingly comfortable!! I seriously want to know where I can get a mattress like that for my bed at home. We had breakfast at the restaurant before we departed on Saturday morning. They offer a very good, well prepared buffet for $17/person (including drinks).

The hotel is located adjacent to the Convention Center in Atlanta. There is a tram terminal within 100 yards of the lobby entrance. So, you can walk out the front door, walk to the tram terminal, go up to the top floor, catch a tram, and be at the airport within 5 minutes. We had a ton of luggage, so that would have been a bit cumbersome with two young kids. So......what we did is I dropped my wife and younger daughter off at the baggage claim/pickup area with the luggage to wait on my older daughter and me to bring the car back to the hotel garage, park it, and hop on the tram back to the airport. It worked out great!. We did the same thing in reverse coming back to Atlanta. This also avoided having the bell staff use the hotel van make a "special trip" to drop us off with high expectations of a generous tip (I am a cheapskate).

I highly recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BES1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2011

Obviously the ATL SkyTrain access makes this one of the best ATL hotels...the other being directly across the street at the Spring Hill Suites.

I've stayed at this hotel three times now and each has been fantastic. It's a relatively new location with wonderful access to the rental car return facility and the airport terminal in the morning.

It's a new Marriott that I've yet to have any issue with, and I generally like to complain on here.

Checkin has generally been worry free with my room requests honored. My guest room has been clean and comfortable. I usually arrive super late, and depart super early. So I haven't had time to enjoy the restaurant, bar or pool.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank IntegrityTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Checked in late but had a pre-paid reservation with a guaranteed Double or King.
Front desk staff informed me that they were completely sold out and could only put me up in the hospitality suite where they had made up the sleeper sofa. I objected to that type of room but was assured nobody ever minded staying there. That is the first problem: they should not have that room in their inventory. If they pre-sell a Double/King room they need to have that room available. Of course the bed was not made up when I got there but housekeeping quickly fixed that. Unfortunately it was not a high end sofa bed but your good old springy, painful thin mattress. They gave me a $50 credit to use for room service but if you're a business traveller whose day started with a 6AM flight and it is now 11PM that does not compensate.
I am appalled and will try to avoid Marriott in the future. This is simply unacceptable, I would have been better off at the Red Roof Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Tiredtraveller005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I'd been away for 4 nights and really missed my little girl and husband. Could not wait to get home. An accident on the hwy made me very late and I missed my flight. The hotel is convenient to the airport, very nice, I could tell it was new. Room is comfortable, clean, modern. The staff from the front dest to the bar were excellent. Food and drink were really good, especially for an airport hotel, excellent. Thanks for making a bad situation so much better! I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: AAA rates are better than published/quoted
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

This is a great hotel for a layover at the Atlanta airport - free tram from airport to hotel that runs every 5-10 minutes gets you from baggage claim to hotel checkin in a few minutes. New hotel (opened in Aug 2010) with great facilities - nice indoor pool, large exercise room with modern equipment, nice restaurant and a lobby bar. The part of staying here was the concierge lounge - great breakfast and evening desserts! Lounge attendant was there for all your needs - super friendly too. So what are the drawbacks - I have to admit the hotel room seems small. It was an OK size for one person - but had my wife been there, it could have been tight. Also the bathrooms seems undersized. All in all a good overnight layover place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldranger81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Just finished a three night stay at the Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway to attend a meeting. I normally stay at Hilton properties, but I was blown away by this Marriott. First off, it's incredibly convenient to Atlanta Airport. There's an electric rail that runs from the airport to this hotel and the car rental location - the hotel is the first stop. It literally only took me five minutes once I had my bags from baggage claim to be in the lobby of this hotel. The hotel itself appeared to be new. The rooms were great and well decorated. Everything was very clean, and all the staff were smiling, friendly, and helpful. I ate several meals at the restaurant in the hotel, and while the prices were expensive (which is what I expected), the food was outstanding! The hotel is also located near the Interstate so it's easy to get to downtown Atlanta or Turner Field from there. I'd highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a great place really close to the airport.

2  Thank golferperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Hotel is very nicely furnished and convenient to airport, but their service is lacking overall. Business center printer was not working but you didn't find that out until you looked behind a wall to see where your document came out. A small (8.5 x 11") said something like, "Printer out of order. Can print document at front desk." Had to wait at front desk because it was always understaffed.

Tried to eat in restaurant after telling hostess that I was in a hurry and wouldn't be having the breakfast buffet. She said she'd get a waiter right away. 5 minutes after waiting, no one came to my table, so I left. Dinner was much better service.

Room was not made up until 3:00 pm even though I left hotel at 9:30 a.m. and had removed the "DND" sign from my door.

Had access to Lounge on 7th floor on 2nd morning and service there was great as were the choices for breakfast.

Wouldn't choose this hotel again even though I have gold status with Marriott.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gotravel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlanta
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Atlanta Airport - North
1.3 mi away
Atlanta Airport Marriott
Atlanta Airport Marriott
#3 of 26 in College Park
848 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Atlanta Airport Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Renaissance Atlanta Airport Gateway Hotel
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlanta Airport North
1.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Atlanta Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway

Address: 2020 Convention Center Concourse, Atlanta, GA 30337-4200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#10 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#11 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#17 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: $162 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway hotel, a Silver LEED-certified hotel after a 2-minute free ride on the ATL SkyTrain from Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport. As one of the top hotels at the Atlanta Airport, Marriott Gateway boasts over 400 guest rooms and hotel suites with soundproof windows, iHome accessories and spacious work areas. Guests will enjoy unique and contemporary amenities at this hotel, including a refreshing indoor saline pool and savory cuisine and cocktails at Champions. With more than 21,000 square feet of meeting space, Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway is ideal for productive meetings and sophisticated soirees. Plus, as one of the premier hotels near Georgia International Convention Center, guests can take advantage of an additional 400,000 square feet of technologically advanced event space, just steps away. The Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway is an excellent landing, perfect for family reunions, corporate gatherings or your next Atlanta layover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing