We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Marriott standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway
Ranked #11 of 172 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Hotel is very nicely furnished and convenient to airport, but their service is lacking overall. Business center printer was not working but you didn't find that out until you looked behind a wall to see where your document came out. A small (8.5 x 11") said something like, "Printer out of order. Can print document at front desk." Had to wait at front desk because it was always understaffed.

Tried to eat in restaurant after telling hostess that I was in a hurry and wouldn't be having the breakfast buffet. She said she'd get a waiter right away. 5 minutes after waiting, no one came to my table, so I left. Dinner was much better service.

Room was not made up until 3:00 pm even though I left hotel at 9:30 a.m. and had removed the "DND" sign from my door.

Had access to Lounge on 7th floor on 2nd morning and service there was great as were the choices for breakfast.

Wouldn't choose this hotel again even though I have gold status with Marriott.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gotravel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,128 - 1,134 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2011

Modern hotel with state of the art rooms. Restaurant that offers tasty and filling meals until 11 pm at night. The hotel is serviced by the automated skytrain that also takes customers to the rental car depots from the arrivals area of Atlanta intenational airport (ATL). Access to skytrain through the doors ajacent to baggage claim, the trains run frequently about every 5 minutes. Travel time to the convention center station is less than 5 mins then there is a 5 minute walk under a covered walkway to the hotel. We were able to get a wake up call at 6.30 am and arrive at terminal checkin at 7am after a shower and coffee!

The hotel is separated from the terminal by over 2 miles so their is no jet noise in the rooms. This airport is the perfect location for an overnight layover at the Hartsfield - Jackson Atlanta International airport

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

The hotel is accessed via Sky Train, across the street from baggage. Take elevator/escalator up one floor. The Sky Train's first stop (approx 2.5 minutes)is the Convention Center and the Marriott (there is also a Springhill Suites across from the full service Marriott), the second and last stop is rental cars. When you exit the Sky Train, take elevator/escalator down one floor. You will be outside for the very short walk to the Marriott. The hotel is less than 1 year old and you will not be disappointed if you are a Marriott person as it is a typical Marriott. The Sky Train runs 24 hours - every 90 seconds. If you want to go into ATL, take the Sky Train back to the airport and catch MARTA (near baggage). If you have an early flight, this is the way to go.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

This hotel is pretty new, but still has obvious kinks. We were given a room that had not been cleaned. The second room (which was clean), had poor reception on the TV (snow). The rooms are small for a new hotel and the bathrooms are very small. Furnishings are Courtyard like with the exception of some granite tops.

Parking is not free (and the lot was tight). Internet access is expensive, but all Marriott hotels are like that.

Considering the typical rack rate, just a so-so value.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave9956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

After a long intercontinental trip, with stopovers and delays, the convenient and warm welcom at the excellent Mariott Gateway hotel is all (no, more) than you could wish. The free air tram, which runs every half minute or so, takes you in less than three minutes from the North terminal to the hotel. The lobby is stylish and modern, with friendly staff helping you with all you need. The room we got was spacious, clean, and (more importantly), very quiet. You are not aware that this hotel is so close to the busiest airport in the U.S. until you open the curtains and see them take off in front of you. We tried the restaurant for dinner (high quality standard American dishes) and for breakfast (supreme choice of everything for a reasonable price. We alo tried out the swimming pool (a big and very clean pool which we did not have to share with others). Yes, the hotel is a bit expensive, even considering the relatively high prices of other airport hotels, but the experience is well worth it. I would recommend it to anyone who must take a stopover in Atlanta.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank all2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Our stay was great. Clean, beautiful, and the most upscale hotel in the area. Conveniently located just a few minutes from Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta Airport. The rooms seem to be sound proof as we did NOT hear any planes the whole 4 days we were there. Amazing! Customer Service could be a little more accommodating when issues arrive but overall the staff was good. Restaurant food little pricey. Big gripe with a hotel of this magnitude is that there are NO microwaves in any of the rooms! Regular room rates are too high but we were with a group and received a discounted rate with free parking. I would stay here again and the Springhill Suites across the street is new and nice too.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theoriginalwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We had to spend a night in Atlanta due to a flight cancellation. the hotel was great, but I think the prices are high as business travellers pay anything to get a room.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atlanta
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Atlanta Airport - North
1.3 mi away
Atlanta Airport Marriott
Atlanta Airport Marriott
#3 of 26 in College Park
849 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Atlanta Airport Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Atlanta Airport North
1.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Atlanta Airport
0.0 mi away
Renaissance Atlanta Airport Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway

Address: 2020 Convention Center Concourse, Atlanta, GA 30337-4200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#10 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#11 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#17 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: $162 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway hotel, a Silver LEED-certified hotel after a 2-minute free ride on the ATL SkyTrain from Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport. As one of the top hotels at the Atlanta Airport, Marriott Gateway boasts over 400 guest rooms and hotel suites with soundproof windows, iHome accessories and spacious work areas. Guests will enjoy unique and contemporary amenities at this hotel, including a refreshing indoor saline pool and savory cuisine and cocktails at Champions. With more than 21,000 square feet of meeting space, Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway is ideal for productive meetings and sophisticated soirees. Plus, as one of the premier hotels near Georgia International Convention Center, guests can take advantage of an additional 400,000 square feet of technologically advanced event space, just steps away. The Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway is an excellent landing, perfect for family reunions, corporate gatherings or your next Atlanta layover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Airport Marriott Gateway Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing