We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER STAY HERE!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #132 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Lincoln, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NEVER STAY HERE!!!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Worst experience ever! We were in ATL to attend the Alabama vs Virginia Tech game. Lots going on in Atlanta this weekend, the game, the Braves, Nascar, Dragacon, and more. We were excited to get a room downtown so last minute, when we made the reservation only 4 days earlier. We went to check in early and the rooms were not ready. OJ at front desk told us we could go ahead and park and check in after the game. We asked twice if we needed a parking pass and were told no. Parked below the motel and walked almost 2 miles to the Dome. Rather than have a huge towing bill and walk 2 miles we would have driven and paid $40 and parked near the Dome. Called after the game to make sure we were still good and let them know we would check in late to please not give up our room. We were assured everything was fine and we needed to check in my midnight, we got to the hotel with five minutes to spare. The night clerk proceeded to check up in and pulled out a parking pass. RED FLAG!!!! We told him we had asked for one early in the day and didn't receive one. My husband ran down to check and sure enough our truck had been towed. The clerk wanted us to check in our room and spend the night and deal with our missing truck the next day. NO WAY!!! All of our belongings were in our truck. When we finally found out where if had been towed we had to take a cab across town. Luckily we had a wonderful cab driver who helped us out a lot, stayed with us until he was sure we would get our truck back and warned us about quickly getting out of the area and not stopping because we were in a very bad part of town. The tow company wouldn't accept my debit or credit card, they needed my husbands. Thankfully I had some cash (which I rarely have). We finally got our truck and drove the very late 2 hour drive home. We found out that 10 vehicles were towed from this location that night. We feel very strongly that this was a scam between the desk clerk and the tow company. The man at the impound lot told us he had never know of them taking cars from this location until yesterday when they got 10 from there. Don't be the next victim.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    97
    75
    19
    27
See reviews for
43
65
39
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was pleasantly surprise by how nice this room was. The bed was large, comfortable, with a nice looking bedspread. The room was very clean. The desk featured a nice office chair, and even an electrical outlet under the desk (most budget hotels place the desk far from any outlets). The room even had a private balcony! The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. The neighbor hood is Downtown Atlanta, but the Hilton is only half a block away. This hotel is in a very convenient location, right off the Interstate 20. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaidBackInLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Ben, the receptionist, was very very friendly so the first impression was a big surprise! The motel looks clean and is located next to the highway in Atlanta Downtown. As you can imagine opening the window is a bad idea because it's getting very noisy but if you leave them closed you won't hear the cars that much. I was able to sleep like a baby :)

If you visit Atlanta without a car, no worries, nearly every attraction (Georgia Aquarium, Coke museum, etc) is in walking distance. A MARTA station is about 10min away.

On our floor there were vending machines (snacks and drinks) and the prices were reasonable. The room is quite big, for 2 persons it's enough room. The interior is a bit worn out but the price is more than fair.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front site
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moritz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

FYI bring your own hair dryer and shampoo. Not provided in the otherwise nice rooms. CVS Pharmacy is 3 blocks walk away and you can pick up sundry items including cereal and milk there.

Got a great rate online, stayed 6 nights in room with refrig and microwave. Spacious, modestly updated, clean, bathroom has marble sink and new modern tile in shower. And importantly, no mildew or mold. Also had nice chair and desk with light for working at desktop. Front desk personnel were helpful and tried to fulfill our needs on several occasions. Parked rental car for free at Motel 6.

Across the street from Hilton, Marriott Marquis and Hyatt. 1.1 miles from Georgia Dome convention center. Nice safe walk. MARTA subway 2 bulks away. Easy ride from the airport on MARTA. 8 blocks to Georgia Aquarium, a must see, Coca cola museum, CNN and Centennial Olympic Square. WAFFLE HOUSE is 7-8 blocks also on the edge of e park. July 4 th in the Olympic Park was great! Lots of visible police presence all over downtown so visitors feel very safe. NO shopping malls, stores like Kohls or Macy's or Penneys in downtown. Must ride subway for shopping or event venues.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hightechmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

During mt stay at motel 6 downtown the staff was really friendly, as it received the package I bought online and gave me tips about the city. The room was OK, it was not as noisy as I expected because of the highway proximity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camila701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed with our dog and 12-year-old daughter. Ben (the front desk clerk) is the best feature of this hotel; he gave great directions, recommendations, and reassured the safety of staying downtown Atlanta. The free parking is a value, especially with being able to walk to the Coke museum, aquarium, centennial park, hard rock cafe, etc. Ben helped us with where to walk the dog; the area is good in the day time but after dark my husband took precautions with dog-walking. The room was clean, linen clean, and like the others said a bit noisy but a wonderful value, especially if staying with a pet (no pet fee). Thank you Ben!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

By far the WORST service and accomodation. All I can say is that you might as well spend the money and stay somewhere decent. The person in charge was awful. The hotel was in poor condition. The ac was out and dirty. The smell was awful. Just overall a piece of sh** place and service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Atlanta hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.5 mi away
Barclay Hotel Atlanta Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Atlanta/Downtown
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Peachtrees
Inn at the Peachtrees
#94 of 173 in Atlanta
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
AC Hotel Atlanta Downtown
#101 of 173 in Atlanta
13 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Atlanta Downtown
0.3 mi away
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
Aloft Atlanta Downtown
#44 of 173 in Atlanta
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown

Property: Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown
Address: 311 Courtland St NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1212
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Atlanta, this Motel 6 provides easy access to all of Atlanta's must see attractions. This Motel 6 is just 3 blocks from Marta Train Station and within walking distance of Hard Rock Cafe, Georgia Aquarium and much more! Our Eco Friendly hotel has amenities Elevator, Free Parking, Free Local Calls, Free Morning Coffee, Pet Friendly Rooms, Kids Stay Free, and Free Expanded Cable. Welcome to the City of Atlanta. Looking for something to do? Atlanta's attractions are known the world over for its parks, sports teams, shopping, museums, and entertainment. We hope you find these attractions both educational and useful. Thank you for the opportunity to show our beautiful city. Motel 6 Downtown Atlanta awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing