We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Value, Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown
Ranked #123 of 177 Hotels in Atlanta
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Value, Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

My husband, son and I stayed one night after traveling from Florida to Atlanta to see a concert. I did a lot of research trying to find an affordable, safe place where we could simply sleep for the night - not an easy task in downtown Atlanta. Motel 6 was not only affordable, but also had free parking which was a wonderful bonus! Check in was quick and the gentleman at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and I have no complaints what so ever about our stay. Restaurants, grocery and drug store were right down the street. Not a lot of extras at this hotel - but if you are simply looking for an affordable, safe, clean and comfortable place to stay - I would highly recommend this motel. Thank you - Hope Jacksonville, FL

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hope72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    89
    70
    16
    24
See reviews for
36
60
38
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Arrived at the hotel with 2 cars since we drove from 2 different locations.. The hotel will NOT allow 2 cars parked on the property even if renting a room. So, parked one of the vehicles in a parking garage on the corner .for our entire stay & paid for parking. There is only one desk clerk on duty at all times. Be prepared for a long wait when you check in & out, Lots of noise/partying in the hall one night. I think I could have gotten a better rate thru the hotel versus on-line. Room was clean, sheets were very thin, no hair dryer or toiletries. On the plus side, the hotel is convenient to all downtown attractions, safe hotel, pleasant staff, and comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerfromthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle,WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I went to Atlanta Georgia for a residency. The univerisity had a block of hotel rooms at the Hilton, which costed $120 per night and the parking if you had a car was $21.00 dollars. I needed to find a hotel that was affordable. The downtown Atlanta Motel 6 was very good value for the money. The room costed half the price of the Hilton at about $60.00 per night and the parking was free. The Motel 6 is centrally located to most of the downtown tourist attractions. The grocery store Publix and Walgreen's are down the street along with other shopping. The room itself was very clean and nice for the price. It came with a refrigerator and microwave. The managers and Front desk person greeted me everytime and remembered me by name. I was made to feel very welcome. The staff was also very nice. The place was very secure and under surviellance. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. I don't see why anyone would pay more when they could stay in a nice room for half the price. Thanks Motel 6. Keith-Seattle, WA.

Room Tip: Sorry no travel tip to add.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigk76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

While I thought, initially, that the neighbourhood this motel was in was sketchy, that quickly faded when I realized how good this place was. The front desk staff, Ben, was uber-helpful and friendly, and really made an effort to know my name and my needs. It's very centrally located in Atlanta, with quick access to the MARTA subway system, and was walkable to a lot of different restaurants and sites. The room was nice and clean, and more than serviceable. The price was right too, although there was a mix-up with the pricing. They did however fix it promptly. I was also able to check in early without a charge, which was also a great benefit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shawnwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I stayed here five nights while attending a conference at the nearby Hilton and I could not be happier for the amount that I paid. There is no pool, no continental breakfast, and no fitness center, however the rooms are comfortable which was all that I needed.

Everyone that I encountered at the front desk was pleasant, especially Ben. This man will go out of his way to make sure you have an enjoyable stay.

In regards to location, the motel is close to practically everything in downtown, which is nice beacause I didn't have a car. You also have to remember, it is downtown Atlanta.

I may not stay here with my wife and kids, but I would stay here again if traveling alone.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USCfan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The rooms are actually really nice and updated. The common areas are older and outdated, but rooms are surprisingly nice. Motel 6 immediately next door to Hilton and Marriott Marquis, but a third the price.
Nice new fridge and microwave in room. My dog was allowed at no extra cost. Room was quiet. Couldn't hear hallway noise. If you don't mind missing the extra common area atmosphere, swimming pool, pricey restaurants, etc and just want a clean safe modern room with all the necessary amenities and free parking, come here. Free parking in downtown Atlanta is unheard of.
Gave cleanliness a 4 cuz comforter smelled musty, but everything else was perfect. Overall a 4 cuz of no "extras" besides the nice room and free parking.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarneyGtrRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

I spent one night here and will return. Check in was a breeze, no problems with internet reservations. The desk clerk was very professional.

The rooms are clean with a nice-sized TV and an assortment of cable TV channels.
The bed was very comfortable and comparable to what I would expect at a semi-luxury hotel. The furniture was all brand new.

They gave me a room with a balcony,which provided a nice view of downtown Atlanta. Being it was a nice late summer night, I stood on the balcony and sipped a view beers while contemplating life.

The location is north of Five Points and Underground Atlanta, about a slow 15 minute walk. The bus #16 stops a block from the hotel, so if without a car, or if you want to get to five points, check out the bus schedule. The 16 is a route that has existed for decades so it runs fairly regularly. Many of the hotel housekeepers ride it, too. I waited less that five minutes, and the ride to five points was about 3-5 minutes.

Lots of stores and restaurants around.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CopacabanaGrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Peachtrees
Inn at the Peachtrees
#84 of 177 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Downtown
Quality Hotel Downtown
#105 of 177 in Atlanta
3.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Centennial Park
The Inn at Centennial Park
#111 of 177 in Atlanta
3.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Atlanta/Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlanta - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Atlanta Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown

Property: Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown
Address: 311 Courtland St NE, Atlanta, GA 30303-1212
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 177 Hotels in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Atlanta, this Motel 6 provides easy access to all of Atlanta's must see attractions. This Motel 6 is just 3 blocks from Marta Train Station and within walking distance of Hard Rock Cafe, Georgia Aquarium and much more! Our Eco Friendly hotel has amenities Elevator, Free Parking, Free Local Calls, Free Morning Coffee, Pet Friendly Rooms, Kids Stay Free, and Free Expanded Cable. Welcome to the City of Atlanta. Looking for something to do? Atlanta's attractions are known the world over for its parks, sports teams, shopping, museums, and entertainment. We hope you find these attractions both educational and useful. Thank you for the opportunity to show our beautiful city. Motel 6 Downtown Atlanta awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Motel-6 and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Atlanta Downtown Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing