We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Bellissimo! Fresh Atlanta Pizza.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antico Pizza Napoletana

Antico Pizza Napoletana
Ranked #12 of 3,839 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Dahlonega, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bellissimo! Fresh Atlanta Pizza.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Heard about this restaurant from an Atlanta TV reviewer and was curious to see if it really was as major league as indicated by the TV hype. (Living in NYC for a few years, I have become a bit of a Pizza Snob). Antico Pizza is in the hippie industrial section of Hemphill road and 14th street. When you walk in for the first time it isn’t clear if you are seated for orders to you order and sit down. The order line forms at the door. Grab a drink to your left and when you get up to the cash register, order and pay. $60 this visit. Have a seat in either the front room (much cooler and better for conversation) or the large back room where you eat right in the kitchen (much hotter and the music is louder in the back room). At 2PM on a Wednesday, the joint was full. You sit with strangers holding hands… so be prepared if you are a small party. 5 minutes after we ordered, a lady came by with two trays of pizza shouting out our order number. It works. We wolfed down the Margherita D.O.P and the San Gennaro. Wonderful. Service was fast. The food was piping hot. And, this former NYC Pizza Snob gives Antico Pizza high ratings! It is some of the best Atlanta pizza I have enjoyed in a long time. Fresh flown in ingredients and perfect tasting crust. I mean perfect. Bellissimo! We are coming back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Whatyahave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    143
    64
    24
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is by far on the best pizzas I've ever had! Everything about the pizza was great. The crust,the sauce, and the toppings. Everybody needs to give this place a try you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steveyb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This is what pizza should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

While visiting friends in Atlanta, they suggested we all go out for pizza. We drove over 6 hours and they want pizza? Don't be rude - pizza is fine. Well, this is unlike any pizza I have ever had. It is incredible. Real crust. Real cheese. Real sauce. And the sweet basil on top makes it perfect. This is what Italians consider pizza, not what Americans say is pizza. It is delicious.

The atmosphere is not for everyone, but we loved it. There is a long line out the door that moves pretty fast. You sit at the equivalent of a picnic table and are very likely rubbing shoulders with someone you don't know and the food is served on cooking trays and there are no plates - you eat on the cooking tray or a paper towel. To me, that was fun.

Bottom line, we will be back the next time we get to Atlanta.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The best pizza I have ever had! It was so good and tasted so real!! The drinks were expensive and there were no refills also get your drinks first..it looked like a long wait but as soon as we ordered the pizza was ready in 1-2 minutes. Fast, great, original pizza. We can't wait to go back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jks85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bring a Microscope to View Pizza Toppings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The pizza here is very good. However, the toppings quantity is a complete rip-off. We ordered two different pizzas. On each (at least they are consistent), there were realistically two slices worth of toppings on an 8-slice pizza.

The ambiance is awful. The stools are uncomfortable, and you may end up facing a naked west window in late afternoon with the sun blinding you. Would it really be so hard to get a window shade?

The service is quick and efficient. You really don't need much service though. They just bring your pizza to the table and then take it away when you are finished. You place your own order at the counter.

This is a better place for groups, as you end up sharing a table with strangers.

We got there before the rush. Whilst there, the line snaked out of the place. To me, it would not be worth the wait.

Antico would be good for Tech students who can afford it. For grown ups, however, you can do better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GMFM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antico Pizza Napoletana also viewed

 

Been to Antico Pizza Napoletana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing