We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE BEST FERNBANK!”

Fernbank Science Center
Ranked #52 of 286 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Highlights of this science museum include an exhibit on the development of life in Georgia over the past 500 million years, the original Apollo 6 space capsule and the world's largest telescope dedicated to public education.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“THE BEST FERNBANK!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This pleace is great; it's free, the exhibits are awesome, and there are more of them than the big Fernbank. They also have a planetarium. Take kids to see the lunar landing pod; this is small so you'll be done in a hour; then head to Athen's Pizza for lunch!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ExploreTheWorld7865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    64
    17
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This jewel is the original Fernbank. Too bad they parted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The exhibits are fresh and include a see through bee hive, meteorites, live frogs and snakes, a space capsule, and a wonderful presentation of the birds of Fernbank forest that involves both classical natural history bird specimens with computer technology. You can see and hear each bird. There is no admission charge except for the enormous planetarium. It's well worth a visit. When we were there they also had a temporary display from NASA on the space station.
Don't miss it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Auggiewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Observatory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Every Thursday and Friday night (9:00-10:30, weather permitting) they open the observatory to the public. You can look through the telescope (largest in the Southeast) and see planets, star clusters, nebulas, etc. When the moon is full you can see amazing detail of the surface/craters. It's one of the coolest things to do in the city (and a perfect 'nerd date') and it's free. Sometimes the lines get long, but try to get there before the planetarium show lets out or toward the end of the program.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
247 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

As a lover of both Science and Astronomy, the Fernbank Science Center is a wonderful place to spend the day. It's modern and worth every penny to get in. We loved the hands on activities and enjoyed watching the tornado, among many other things.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soddy Daisy, Tennessee
Level Contributor
279 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Neat Planetarium but probably won't hold kids attention long”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We attended the Sid the Science Kid day at the Fernbank Science Center with my 5 year old twin boys. The employees were very nice. They went to a lot of work to make this nice for the kids. I appreciated that. Especially since entrance was free. They only charge for the planetarium shows. They showed an episode of Sid and then did a chemical magic show for the kids. Then they had some activities.

The place has free parking which is great for Atlanta. The entrance is free to come in and look at the exhibits. Most of the exhibits are not hands on or interactive so they don't particularly keep young children's interest. They have a bunch of taxidermied animals and some space stuff and some dinosaurs. We attended the "Earth's Wild Ride" planetarium show. I really liked the planetarium part. The movie is very cool because it is kinda like an IMAX movie because it is in your face. It kinda scared one of my sons because he thought we were moving and it was a ride.

The movie was not the best quality but I still enjoyed it on the planetarium screen. At the end they showed us the star maps and how to find some constellations and some planets. If you have a kid that loves space I would recommend it. My sons love space and so they really enjoyed it. The planetarium shows are cheap at like $7 for adults and $5 for kids I think.

They seem to put a lot of effort into their special events like the Sid the Science kid day so they are definitely worth attending.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilsumner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fernbank Science Center also viewed

 

Been to Fernbank Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing