We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Oakland Cemetery
from $58.99
More Info
from $69.00
More Info
from $55.00
More Info
Reviews (1,069)
Filter reviews
1,028 results
Traveler rating
711
276
36
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
711
276
36
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bobby jones buried here margaret mitchell confederate soldiers jewish section halloween tour guided tour golf balls across the street resting place visitor center lots of history love history gift shop special events walk around headstones
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,028 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Cemetery that is a city park. Check event listings for festivals going on. Go if something is happening. Support local parks. Tours are good way to learn history of cemetery and Atlanta bit you can do self guided tour as well. Spend a couple of hours here. Great views also.
Will I Go Back ? Yes absolutely. Want to check out the events

Thank WillIGoBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Who'd have thunk? The fall exhibit/show in the cemetery was fantastic. The tour and stops for small vignette shows was great...

Thank richard l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friend and I took an unguided tour on a Friday morning. The landscape, flowers and stunning architecture were magnificent!
It was an easy stroll on the brick paths through years of history and gravesites.
Each gravesite was increasingly more interesting and they shed light on Atlanta’s past.
The staff were welcoming and answered our questions (the landscapers).
This is a MUST see when visiting Atlanta.
I’m so happy that I had the opportunity to visit Oakland Cemetery.

The cemetery is within walking distance to the MARTA station. So it’s easy to get to. That’s a plus!

Thank NancyNurse9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very interesting and old cemetery, not only because of the "gone with the wind" actress buried here but because it has some of famous African-american people buried here from slaves to being the first black dentist, first female black surgeon and so on. There is a number that you can dial and listen to the history of a specific tomb, no need for a tour guide. Only thing you need is the map from the visitor center and the bathroom is there as well, use it before you go around the cemetery. It can be a good walk back if you didn't. Just be careful in your steps, some of the pavements and dirt are not even and can twist your ankle.

Thank arlenejustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved the history of this beautiful cemetery. Staff very helpful and also very proud of their cemetery.

Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

So amazing to see where all the celebrities are buried plus the normal Atlanta's and to see the segregation even in death. To see the soldiers and the mayors and a few famous athlethes plus the Jewish section and the black section. Great learning moments

Thank boake314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Oakland Cemetery is the biggest and best collection of deceased Atlantans in town. Amazing above-ground crypts hold endless stories about how Atlanta came to be, and I couldn't recommend a tour or walk-through more. Definitely worth a visit!

Thank Matts_Mundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very interesting to walk among the tombstones from the civil war and to also see the tombstones of famous Atlanta Residents too. If you don't take a tour, stop by the gift shop and pay for a map. It is very informative and helps you find all of the famous tombstones like Margaret Mitchell and Bobby Jones. Some of the mausoleums were very ornate and the sculptures are beautiful. We have lived in Atlanta since 1969 and had heard about this cemetery but had never been until now. We had out of town guests and we were trying to think of something different to do. This was it! We all enjoyed it so much.

Thank Barefoot29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been to the Halloween and beer-related tours at Oakland this year, and both were great. It is a beautiful place, and they make the tours entertaining and informative.

Thank adamjhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice place, full of history, art. You should see that place if you are interested in cemeteries...

Thank Umutguzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews