We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“learn Atlanta history”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oakland Cemetery

Oakland Cemetery
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.99*
and up
Atlanta City Sightseeing Tour by Segway
Ranked #9 of 286 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Step back in time in Atlanta's most tangible link to the past, Oakland Cemetery. This historical park is the final resting place for many Civil War soldiers, golfing legend Bobby Jones, and "Gone With the Wind" author Margaret Mitchell.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“learn Atlanta history”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Go for a walking tour and learn about the people that shaped Atlanta. Also, a great place to just take a restful walk. Some great eateries just across the street too!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    260
    36
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots of history there”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Lots of history there, with many unusual graves. Visitor Center very helpful as the starting point to your tour.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank SusanH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“History under your feet!”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Atlanta's most historic cemetery. A cross section of Atlanta's citizens are buried here, dating from Atlanta's earliest days. There are sections for everyone. Definitely buy a map, available in the gift shop, and take a tour with a docent if available. Some of the noted graves to take in are Margaret Mitchell, Bobby Jones and of course Tweet, a Mockingbird. You could spend days in the Victorian era section trying to unravel the mysteries of the symbols on the monuments. It is a lovely, peaceful setting.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank JennATl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is a beautiful cemetery, and very historic. Take time to go through as many graves as possible, not just the big names so to speak. The only thing I wish was we had went on a cooler day or earlier in the morning. I got overheated so we had to leave before I wanted. We will return in the fall!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Candy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A place to reflect”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Oakland Cemetery has such history and beauty. Great place to just sit and reflect on our history and those who were part of it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LolaInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakland Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Oakland Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing