We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jumping Neighborhood Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe 640 - CLOSED

Cafe 640
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ponce de leon
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Jumping Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were staying at the adjacent Highland Inn and didn't want to drive to dinner so we checked out Cafe 640. It was a Tuesday night and the place was very busy with nearby residents engaged in the apparently regular trivia contest. We started with very good calamari and moved on to a wonderful porchetta sandwich and nicely done burger. This is some serious gastropub food!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomRuthWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rockmart, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Service was a bit slow, but the food was fabulous!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Nice atmosphere. Friendly, but slow service. We might have just caught them on a bad day though... we all have days like that. Everyone's food looked great. I got the blackened chicken salad on a croissant... I must say, that was the absolute BEST chicken salad I've ever had! Now I just have to figure out what they put in it, so I can make mine that way!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“friendly funky and fine”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This small Poncey Highland cafe just south of the cool Virginia Highland neighborhood is easy to miss but you shouldn't. Whether you are in the mood for a great burger (beef, turkey or veg) or a small but delicious side like maple roasted brussel sprouts or a wonderful cheese plate - lunch or dinner. Great selection of beers and house speciality cocktails. There are lots of great places in this city and neighborhood. Don't pass this one up.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Drinks and Dessert must in the Neighborhood”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had drinks and dessert here . The place is very nice. The staff were all extremely friendly, helpful and pleasnt. The dessert , a homemade brownie with Ice cream and whip cream on top, was totally awesome. The brownie was a melt in your mouth treat! i'll be back if I'm in that neighborhood.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank bigzanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food - Excellent Service”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very nice beer menu, the appetizers and soup of the day were great - Jessi did a GREAT job as our waitress - we came back the next night for drinks after dinner.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank teecee1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 640 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing