We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay was great, posh digs and quiet. Just what I needed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel
Ranked #20 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Staff was accommodating, we had children with us, and needed a playard. The room was clean, and parking wasn't an issue, because we used the meters. Very cute boutique spot, catered toward the grownup crowd, but it worked for our family. Great stay overall.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanelRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark_castriota, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review and post your comments about your stay. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed it so much. We will look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,024 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

The location is perfect and I could get used to having men open the door for me! I would go for a run at peidmont park (1 mile away) and no matter what speed I was running when I came back that door was open and I was asked if I enjoyed my run. I think they were watching out for me!
The rooms are clean and spacious. The bar has the best home made potato chips. And even the banquet foot has flavor and variety. This was a perfect location for a business meeting. I only wish I had more time to spend here being pampered.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StillinLOVEsince84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark_castriota, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Hi. I absolutely loved the title of your review, "Treated like a lady". That's exactly what we aspire to deliver in terms of service! And I was glad to see we were spot on, and that you felt pampered. You of course are welcome to return anytime to get this same treatment!

Enjoy your day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This property has surpassed the Georgian Terrace as my favorite place to stay for Georgia Tech events. My wife and I stayed here for Georgia Tech's Homecoming. We have stayed here several times before and the quality of the room and service has always been top notch.

The hotel is pet friendly but we can't tell that any pets stay in our room. They must have rooms set aside for the pets since every room we have stayed in is immaculate with no signs that a pet has stayed. And with animal allergies we would definitely know.

The rooms are very nice with comfortable beds and quiet HVAC. The TV features real high definition channels. Internet speed is good. My room had a computer in it that has a menu system for different services in the hotel, such as in room dining, restaurant hours and menu, nearby attractions and other hotel related items. Unfortunately the in room dining menu was not updated. I called for some room service and the item I wanted was not on the restaurant's menu but the gentleman on the phone went through the menu and handled our order very well. They always say it will be a 45 minute wait but our food always arrives in less than 30 minutes.

If you like great views, get a higher room. The south rooms face downtown and are slightly more expensive than rooms facing the north toward Buckhead. But the north rooms have great views too so pocket the money and take the north room (unless you can get a south facing room for the same price.)

There is no place to park your car so you have to valet or park at a nearby garage. Parking is around $30/day with valet. The wait for your car is not as bad as the Georgian Terrace, but its not great either. Usually its a 5-10 minute wait for your car. I have started parking at the Centergy lot located at the corner of Abercrombie Pl and Spring Street. It is only a little over 1 block walk from the hotel to the parking garage and its $10/day. So if you don't need your car often and don't mind walking you can save some money parking.

The rooftop bar is actually not on the roof. It is on the Terrace level (2nd floor) above the restaurant. It is outside but views are not that great with all the tall buildings surrounding this bar.

The restaurant is top notch with an excellent bar. I can highly recommend it for breakfast and dinner if you don't feel like venturing away from the hotel. But nice restaurants and bars are within walking distance from the hotel. Go south on W. Peachtree to 5th street and try the Barrelhouse for some simple bar type food. A cheaper bar than the hotel bar is located on the corner of Abercrombie and W. Peachtree with very friendly bartenders. Walk north on W. Peachtree to Steel for some very good food with an Japanese/Asian influence. Marlowes is another great place that people go to watch sports but has a very good selection of American type food. There are some other restaurants you can try next to Marlowes.

Bottom line - this is a great hotel located near Ga. Tech and within walking distance to some nice restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room for the better views. North facing rooms are usually a little cheaper. If pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W4ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark_castriota, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Good afternoon and thanks for your review of the hotel. We are indeed the hotel to choose if you are attending anything related to GA Tech. I have shared your comments with the team, especially the one about our "top notch" service levels. I have addressed the IRD menu issue, sorry about that, but did want to be sure to follow up on that. Additionally, I appreciate your comment about the Suitelinq rooms and was glad to hear you liked that. We are conducting a trial and love to get feedback about that.

We'll look forward to welcoming you the next time you travel to Atlanta!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I enjoy staying here. Everything about this hotel is on point. The staff is fantastic. The rooms are impeccable.

I typically arrive late in the evening and order room service as soon as I get in. The kitchen is open late and much better than worrying about finding a nearby restaurant. I also appreciate that they still have wired Internet access in the rooms.

I probably stay at this hotel 6-8 times per year.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a PURE Allergy Friendly room. Best sleep I've had in months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uberclerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark_castriota, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback about our hotel. I, of course was delighted to read that you stay here often and that you have had such a great experience. The PURE rooms are everything you say, I could not agree more that it is indeed the best night's sleep I have had in a hotel room. We'll look forward to your next stay.

Until then....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed at this property for two nights on business, mid-week in October, 2012.

Arrived from the airport via MARTA and the hotel is a quick walk away - very convenient.

My flight arrived very early and my reservation was notated with a request for early check in (~11:30am). The hotel had my room ready upon arrival, noting that comment during the check in process.

While I was not upgraded - and am not sure if this hotel does upgrades or not - I was treated very well as Marriott Gold member. Free breakfast for two, WiFi, $10 mini-bar credit each day & 10% discount on food in the hotel restaurant were provided as my Elite benefits.

I dined at the hotel restaurant twice - once for breakfast & once for lunch - and had cocktails at the bar both nights of my stay. The food was very good and I think the price was appropriate for what was given. Service by all of the servers as well as the bartenders was very good. I would like to award special recognition to the bartender that was on duty the evening of 23 October 2012 as he did a very, very good job and should be commended.

The hotel has a wine tasting each night from 5-6pm and they put out small food items to go along with the wine each night.

I've found a very distinct trend that when hotels that consistenly respond to TA reviews my experiences there are top notch -- this property was no different. I normally stay in downtown Atlanta hotels 3-4 months out of the year but this gem of a property in midtown just won a good majority of my future business.

Keep up the excellent work!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LedgeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark_castriota, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Good morning and thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. What a great review--not only because of the positive comments regarding the hotel and staff, but mostly because we will see you again upon your return. I was delighted to see that we were able to honor your request for an early check in (one of my priorities as a GM) and that we delighted you as a Marriott Rewards Elite member. We do indeed offer upgrades to our Elite members upon availablilty. We have been extremely busy during October (for that matter all year, especially mid week). I will personally reach out to the bartender for that evening, typically it is Sonny, who receives many positive comments. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Located close to Georgia Tech., this hotel is of a very high standard. Tastefully decorated in a modern style, the hotel and bedrooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. There are a few good restaurants nearby. Breakfast was very good, but quite expensive. Note that parking is valet only ($30/night) and Internet is $20/night. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ballinora4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark_castriota, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Good morning and thank you for your comments about your stay. I was delighted to hear that it was so positive and that you enjoyed our friendly, helpful staff and that you described our guest rooms as decorated with style, spacious, comfortable and of course clean. We strive to achieve all of these descriptions each and every day with every guest. I truly appreciate you taking the time to share them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Nice bathrooms, very clean. I stayed for four nights for a business trip. The attached restaurant is a farm to table restaurant and it's delicious. I even had a nice view.

Aveda products too! The lighting in the bathrooms is weird though - there is a makeup mirror but it's pretty dark in there. Making it difficult to see your makeup.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretchen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark_castriota, General Manager at Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you so very much for sharing your experience here at our hotel. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay AND that you had a chance to experience Briza. We are very proud of the food and service quality that you recieve when dining in Briza. We are working hard on identifying a solution to the lighting issue you mention and we are optimistic that we have identified one potential solution.

thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 173 in Atlanta
2,311 reviews
Midtown
The Georgian Terrace Hotel
W Atlanta Downtown
#64 of 173 in Atlanta
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Artmore Hotel
Artmore Hotel
#16 of 173 in Atlanta
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel

Address: 866 W. Peachtree Street NW, Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
#10 Business Hotel in Atlanta
#11 Green Hotel in Atlanta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Atlanta
#28 Family Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range: $147 - $642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel is a luxury boutique hotel in Atlanta, Georgia's Midtown neighborhood, situated perfect to offer a central location near top area destinations. Our beautifully appointed hotel stylishly sets "Art in Motion" while surrounding you in comfort. Just blocks from the Georgia Tech campus, our sophisticated sanctuary offers easy access to popular attractions like the Atlanta Botanical Garden, Piedmont Park, Centennial Olympic Park, Georgia Aquarium, CNN Center and the Georgia Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing