We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Champions of New Music”

Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Ranked #51 of 291 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the Woodruff Arts Center, this is the famed symphony orchestra of Atlanta.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Champions of New Music”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Atlanta Symphony, although many of its programs are the tried and true, also features lots of contemporary music by 21st Century composers. That's it's greatest strength, in my opinion. The musicians are excellent at whatever they do, but some of the contemporary works appear to me to be very difficult to perform, and not only because they are new and pretty much unheard before.

Also, the Chorus is one of the best in the world, and anytime they are performing, it's a special evening.

Go hear them. If you like classical music at all, you won't be disappointed

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank davidthevagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    32
    8
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
193 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Always a good time!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

A great way to spend some time in Atlanta ---- hanging out with the ASO!! The tickets are generally reasonable, the performers - excellent. I'm never disappointed!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ATLBuckeyeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Innovative performances, something for every age.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have been to classical, pops, movies with the symphony playing in the background, They really do a great job trying to engage the community. We ended up buying season tickets, we were enjoying it so much and you are able to exchange for another date if something comes up. They are so nice about it and make it easy. Lovely hall, comfortable seating, just can't go wrong supporting this great institution. Supporting the arts, when they are like this is such a pleasure.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Loistheartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, GA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Symphony”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband was given the tickets as a gift. We would not have considered buying tickets ourselves. We were pleasantly surprised and thoroughly enjoyed the performance. We will return.

Helpful?
Thank ed78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sautee Nacoochee, Georgia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Still, despite their quality, I attend infrequently. I have never been disappointed.
The deterrent to frequent attendance is Atlanta traffic.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlanta Symphony Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to Atlanta Symphony Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing