We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wife has been trying to get me here for 15 years”

57th Fighter Group Restaurant
Ranked #99 of 3,977 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Warner Robins, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“My wife has been trying to get me here for 15 years”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife has been trying to get me here for 15 year. Was definitely worth the wait. Food, service, staff, 57 FG memorabilia and airplanes were top notch. Reasonable prices too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    87
    44
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Yes for drinks or brunch; skip dinner - poor service”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

After visits here now and then over 25 years, this unique place with a nostalgic atmosphere is like nothing else you've ever been to. WWII artifacts and vehicles give it the theme. The outside patio is excellent for happy hour on a warm afternoon where you can watch the planes land and take off. The good part: Sunday brunch on special occasions. Plentiful food and a view of the airport runways. Worth it. The grandparents who have more of a connection to war time enjoy the decor. Also good is having a drink or 2 on the patio. There is a 5-7 happy hour during the week, too.
The bad part: Meals off the menu and service are SO inconsistent. We have never ever had a truly great meal here. And the service is always SO slow (that is why brunch works.) Examples: one winter evening there was no heat in the restaurant but they did not tell us until after they had seated us near the window and we ordered. We have been brought lukewarm food on many occasions, including their signature beer cheese soup, not good. The dinner portion of marinated salmon comes with nothing else... just a piece of fish on the plate. Surprise! Whereas every other casual item at least gets fries or a side. Never had hot fries here, either. The kitchen to table process does not work well here. On a recent evening it took us *one hour* to get our simple dinner order which was a sandwich and a salad. They lost the ticket.... waiter did not come back to check on us until several couples who came in after us were all eating their meals. He had to even ask us again what we had ordered. NO visit to the table by a boss to apologize and no adjustment on the check. For all this, it is not super cheap food and the menu was really, really limited. A sandwich with fries or a salad with chicken might be $13, for a more appealing and hot dinner you would do better to drive a few more blocks to Buford Highway and choose from the myriad of ethnic restaurants all along that road.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Good Place to Eat”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Went to the Sunday Brunch. Took my 2 Grandchildren and son and daughter-in-law. We had a window table and the kids really enjoyed seeing the planes coming and going. The" Memphis Belle" was also there and since my Father flew B-17's-B-25"s-and B29's during WWII. It was a history lesson as well. The food was very good and hope to visit there again soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect end to our stay”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our experience was awesome.Taylor made us feel at home and welcome she did a phenomenal job.Perfect find for our last dinner in atlanta.thanks for the experience, dave from Florida

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hamer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“We have loved this place in the past, but our most recent visit was disappointingof our favorit”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

They have removed one of our favorites from the menu and the beer cheese soup was not up to par. The rolls they normally served with had been replaced by biscuits......impossible to use for dipping. Still has the ambiance but food was disappointing, staff was rude and I just can't justify spending that kind of money for a sub part experience. It was also for a special occasion and we had a cake and they charged us a "cake" cutting fee that was ridiculous. At this point, you're really just paying for ambiance/surroundings, definitely not the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrekdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 57th Fighter Group Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to 57th Fighter Group Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing