We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting restaurant for military/airplane enthusiasts”

57th Fighter Group Restaurant
Ranked #120 of 3,948 Restaurants in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Very interesting restaurant for military/airplane enthusiasts”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Surprised my husband who enjoys WWII and military history with a trip to the 57th.The theming starts the moment you make your way up the long driveway leading up to the restaurant. Outside there is a replica plane and some ground military vehicles. The building looks like something out of an european village. Inside you will find the restaurant is really large but the dining areas are broken into several rooms which makes them rather cozy. We were seated by the window and had a view of the planes taking off and landing during the meal. The walls are decorated very tastefully with WWII memorabilia and they play 1940s pop on throughout the dining area.

The food was great. We both had the cheese soup. I had the prime rib and greens. Husband has New York Strip and mash. The meat was cooked exactly as we asked. The portions were huge and neither of is were able to finish our meals. Overall a very good meal!

We also had our two small children with us. They both enjoyed watching the planes on the runway. The kids menu was perfect and we were able to order them a plate of buttered pasta to share followed by a scoop of homemade ice cream for each.

I would recommend the 57th to anyone looking for a unique dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimber_jewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    85
    42
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, NC
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The restaurant was beautiful inside, but a bit expensive. My 12 oz Ribeye steak was not worth the $27 I had to pay for it. (Don't even get a salad with the meal) There is a full sized fiberglass P-51 on display in front of the restaurant. You can get a ride in an AT-6. I asked an employee if he could get the owners to replace the American flag replaced. The flag was severely ripped and needed replaced badly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamblee, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Blast Fron the Past”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This restaurant is cheek-by-jowl with DeKalb-Peachtree Airport (PDK) in Chamblee, GA. They opened in 1980 and have closed and re-opened at least twice for reasons other than the food or service. The restaurant was built to resemble an old sandbagged English or French country farmhouse you might have encountered over-there during WWII. The construction is of heavy timbers and beams; the walls are festooned with all kinds of wartime memorabilia and period photographs; and the surrounding grounds have various WWII transport vehicles scattered around. A real P-51 Mustang mounted on a pylon sits just outside the main entrance. The place is divided into a nice-casual / formal restaurant and a bar. The radio chatter from the tower and ground control is piped into each area. There is window seating overlooking the field, and you can watch an assortment of aircraft taxiing, landing, and taking off continuously as you eat.

My wife and I prefer the bar area, which has a dance floor and live bands on weekends. The food is more moderately-priced in the bar than in the restaurant. The bar has pub furniture, while the restaurant has more upscale furniture and linen-covered tables.

My favorite sandwich is the 57th sandwich, and my wife’s is the Reuben. The portions are very generous and the food is excellent. They have a full bar and many designer beers. If you’re an aviation buff, and like good food, I highly-recommend the place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great brunch”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Dance floor is great for evening events. Sunday brunch is awesome. The tables are overflowing with a very large selection of upscale choices.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank gdottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A long time fav”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Both inside and outside options are available, great for large groups because of the spacious surrondings.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaryBeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 57th Fighter Group Restaurant also viewed

 
Doraville, GA
 

Been to 57th Fighter Group Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing