We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a thrill seeing these rare museums”

Jimmy Carter Library & Museum
Ranked #14 of 290 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Carter Presidential Library and Museum re-opens October 1, 2009 as an all-new,state-of-the-art museum tracing the life and work of President Jimmy Carter, from his childhood in Plains to the work he and Mrs. Carter do around the world to promote peace and health.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Always a thrill seeing these rare museums”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Seeing a Presidential Library, and I've seen several of them, is always a thrill. This one is very large, and covers many facets of Carter's life, his childhood, military experience, family, and his Presidency. Many artifacts on display, and a replica of the Oval Office and how it looked during is Presidency are included. Nice grounds inside a park in central Atlanta. Highly recommend you allow 3 hours for this visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vlichadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    275
    55
    2
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“He was a powerful negotiator!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The Jimmy Carter's Library and Museum were breath-taking. Allow yourself plenty of time to absorb all the history. He was able to negotiate peace between Egypt and Israel. Watch his story regarding the unfolding of events. He is an amazing negotiator. As the country chewed their nails over the hostage situation; we never knew what transpired "behind the scenes". Again watch the movie to see how that part of history "played-out". The library was fascinating. And the museum showing their life in the White House was interesting. Allow at two hours, but to be able to absorb all of his accomplishments -- it will take a lot longer then that!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, USA
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“On the Presidential Museum Trail”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Okay, so… we were going to visit the Carter Presidential Museum in Atlanta because our goal is to visit ALL thirteen Presidential Library Museums. What we thought we know about Carter has mostly to do with his “after-president” accomplishments. So, it requires an open mind. As we explored the Jimmy Carter Presidential Museum however, we were captured by the amazing events that his time in office contributed to history—the Camp David Accord, the Panama Canal Treaty, the Noble Peace Prize, the Middle East Hostage Crisis, etc. none of which were without controversy. All these interfaces were presented in an impactful manner. And then, there was a whole additional focus on Carter’s post-presidency contributions to so many current world issues: world peace, human rights, fair and democratic elections around the world, attention to domestic and international poverty. I believe the Carter Museum is a work in progress—more is yet to come. Whatever you thought you knew about Jimmy Carter… visit the Museum. We walked away with greater respect for the man and for his presidency. Parking is free and admission is nominal.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank robbgrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good culture”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

another good cultural event spot to check off your Atlanta visit list..plenty of restaurants to attend afterward

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dano E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Historical”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I loved everything. They have a video in the beginning of his accomplishments before and during his presidency. They also show Rosalyn Carter's contribution to Jimmy's presidency also.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Carter Library & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy Carter Library & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing