We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable and interesting”

Jimmy Carter Library & Museum
Ranked #15 of 286 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Carter Presidential Library and Museum re-opens October 1, 2009 as an all-new,state-of-the-art museum tracing the life and work of President Jimmy Carter, from his childhood in Plains to the work he and Mrs. Carter do around the world to promote peace and health.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hadn't planned on going here while in Atlanta, but other attractions took not as long as I thought they would and we ended up here... what a nice surprise! I was born during the Carter administration, and enjoyed this museum very much. Nice balance of types of exhibits, media used, etc. Gift shop, of course, with a lot of interesting items. Wonderful section on Carter's post-presidency life revealing this man is more accomplished than his presidential record would suggest. Definitely worth the visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    261
    52
    2
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Enlightening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We lived through the Carter presidency and thought we knew a lot about this man. It was astonishing how much we learned about the man and his policies at this attraction. I can understand how other reviewers would say it is boring because there is a lot of reading, but the material is well organized and there are many video presentations and you move along at your own pace. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The grounds are beautiful and it was a joy to walk around and experience Spring with the daffodils, tulips, azaleas, and flowering trees. We thoroughly enjoyed the two hours we spent on this walk through history.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraG332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Important”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

It's nice to better understand the legacy of this one term president and understand how he and his wife continue to change the world. The museum dies a nice job of integrating traditional exhibits with media-oriented exhibits. If you've ever watched The West Wing, you will better understand "A Day in the Oval Office" exhibit. Fun also to see the boxes and boxes and BOXES of papers that are part of the presidential library behind a glass wall. That's a lot of work!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank FunFamilyAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were traveling home from Savannah Georgia to St. Louis Missouri when we stopped at the Jimmy Carter Presidential Library. What I liked most about this is how many activities were available that appeal to everyone. I was able to take my daughter around the museum while my husband and son hiked around the grounds. I do think it could have some more hands on areas, though. There is a game at the end my daughter could have spent hours at, but otherwise it was very much stop, look, and read. The museum is not something I would recommend for younger kids.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank wynndsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“ZZZZZ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

First the positives...it really is in a nice area. It is a very pretty location.

Overall, this was a boring experience. It would have been cooler if there were more interactive experiences, like in the modern Lincold museuem in Illinois.Other presidential libraries were a better experience, such as the one for Truman, Kennedy, and even Hoover!
Although I thought that the early years of President Carter were interesting, the rest was bland. I did like the exhibit showing the guest 24 hours in a common presidential schedule. Perhaps the artifacts, style, and presentation could have been presented differently...or maybe this president's four years weren't all that noteworthy?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Carter Library & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy Carter Library & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing