We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Museum”

Jimmy Carter Library & Museum
Ranked #14 of 290 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Carter Presidential Library and Museum re-opens October 1, 2009 as an all-new,state-of-the-art museum tracing the life and work of President Jimmy Carter, from his childhood in Plains to the work he and Mrs. Carter do around the world to promote peace and health.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice Museum”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We enjoyed the Jimmy Carter Presidential Museum. The grounds were lovely and the exhibits were informative. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. It was easy to get to. There were many signs and with the help of a GPS it was very easy to locate.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank aquaducktres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    280
    55
    2
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A must for anyone interested in American history and the work of Jimmy Carter”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Recently I spent a few hours at the Jimmy Carter museum and library. My group had a guided tour. Make sure to allow enough time to take the extended tour. There are so many fascinating things to see and listen to, you won't want to miss any of it. It is an amazing trip back into the life and times of Jimmy Carter. Follow his humble beginnings and see his spectacular rise to becoming the President of the United States. You will also learn how he continues to live and improve the world each and every day of his life. The collections of photographs, paintings, awards, and some gifts Jimmy Carter has received are all on display as well as his library. You will learn how his life is a commitment in improving living conditions for those less fortunate, especially in very poor country's. Our tour guide was amazing and a wealth of information. It was obvious to me, he loved sharing all his knowledge and wisdom with us. The signage outside can be a bit confusing when you are first driving up, so watch for signs carefully as you approach the museum and library. We tend to judge people by what we see on television and I am fortunate to have learned so much more about Jimmy Carter and his important place in history.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blondie540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Historian's Must See”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Each of the presidential libraries is a reflection of the president. Some try to hide the warts, some are insanely detailed, and some try to extol the life of the president rather than their policies. The Carter Museum gives a balanced view of President Carter and his life before and after his presidency. The grounds are very nice and have quite a bit of sculpture work. The signage could be improved as it's easy to miss the last turn onto the museum grounds.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank RDB_Indep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis, mo
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Interesting and Educational”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We made a spur of the moment decision to visit the JCL&M on our visit to Atlanta. The grounds are beautiful and the facility is well-kept. The tour is interesting, loaded with multiple facts about Carter's life, and then explores life beyond his presidency. The exhibits are interesting and everything is laid out in a way that allows people to explore everything at their own pace without feeling crowded. We enjoyed every part of this visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank joonbug72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jimmy Carter Library”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have visited other Presidential libraries and this one does not disappoint. The exhibits are interesting, the staff is very helpful and the set-up allows you to enjoy it at your own pace.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Texaswanderer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Carter Library & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy Carter Library & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing