We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and Educational”

Jimmy Carter Library & Museum
Ranked #14 of 290 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Carter Presidential Library and Museum re-opens October 1, 2009 as an all-new,state-of-the-art museum tracing the life and work of President Jimmy Carter, from his childhood in Plains to the work he and Mrs. Carter do around the world to promote peace and health.
st. louis, mo
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Interesting and Educational”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We made a spur of the moment decision to visit the JCL&M on our visit to Atlanta. The grounds are beautiful and the facility is well-kept. The tour is interesting, loaded with multiple facts about Carter's life, and then explores life beyond his presidency. The exhibits are interesting and everything is laid out in a way that allows people to explore everything at their own pace without feeling crowded. We enjoyed every part of this visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank joonbug72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    275
    55
    2
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jimmy Carter Library”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have visited other Presidential libraries and this one does not disappoint. The exhibits are interesting, the staff is very helpful and the set-up allows you to enjoy it at your own pace.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Texaswanderer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia area
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Interesting...and explores more than his presidency”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We love visiting Presidential libraries and since we had ditched our kids for the day, it was perfect. It has a beautiful entrance and lovely grounds in the back...we had picked the coldest weekend in February and rushed from car to the indoors.
It gives a very nostalgic lookback on the Carter family's roots and beliefs and his successes and failures in the White House. But it also gives perspectives from the First Lady along with their work in the Carter Center helping people around the world.
Even if you don't think Carter was the best president, I think we can agree his charity has changed many people's lives for the better.
I saw many bored young children though and was glad I left mine with their grandma!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank elawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Middle School Visit”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I just got back from here today. I took 60 middle schoolers with me and had 4 chaperones. The attracton is great, but the staff was very rude and disrespectful! There is a lot of information and stuff for kids to learn about and we were pushed through very quickly and one worker even told me.."If your kids are not going to buy anything then you should have them skip the gift shop." HOW RUDE. Does anyone know if you are going to buy anything unless you go in and shop first? The place was not crowded and we had people following us like we were going to steal the place. Totally took away from a meaningful experience and learning opportunity. Again, the Museum was great but fire the entire staff that was there today.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Thought it would be boring - stayed 4 hours!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Always felt Jimmy Carter was a nice guy but not much of a president. Well, he is a VERY nice guy and he contributed a lot as president. He had very forward thinking ideas (i.e., he had solar panels installed in the White House -- Ronald Reagan had them ripped out!) and he is a true humanitarian. Highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Atlanta. Much more interesting than the very commercialized Coke musuem (which charges twice as much in admission).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank OHnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Carter Library & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy Carter Library & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing