We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rated this already” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jimmy Carter Library & Museum

Jimmy Carter Library & Museum
Ranked #16 of 281 things to do in Atlanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Carter Presidential Library and Museum re-opens October 1, 2009 as an all-new,state-of-the-art museum tracing the life and work of President Jimmy Carter, from his childhood in Plains to the work he and Mrs. Carter do around the world to promote peace and health.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“rated this already”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was great something to do when you are looking to get out of the house and explore the city around you!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nayas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    255
    51
    2
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
450 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“One of the Better Presidential Libraries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Focuses on actual events of administration and post-preseidential work towards world peace. Less political bias than some libraries of later presidents. Great for families and all who enjoy USA history.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank 2Starbirders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
231 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“The museum is like the President, boring”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a waste of money. It is a weak attempt to make Jimmy Carter look good but no museum could do that. It is boring, overdone and an attempt to make their favorite son a success. It fails in that attempt and is not balanced based upon what he did as chief executive. I guess that is understandable in his home state

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jthomas1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We learned so much about this president and his times here. It is an extremely well done museum and the grounds are beautiful. A reminder of how difficult it is to be President of the United States.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fascinating and well presented.....definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

It's amazing to me that most of this history occurred during my lifetime and I was marginally aware of it. Learning about the times was as interesting as the Carter's story. What an amazing couple Jimmy and Rosalyn are. I don't think anyone, regardless of their politics, could come through the center without a new found respect for the Carters. I thought the information was presented in a visitor-friendly format. You can engage in more involved video/audio presentations or walk through and read what's there. I did some of both. I was with other people and the museum was closing or would have taken more time. I was especially struck by how Carter's faith influences his work and how faith has been so distorted in recent times to justify peoples' actions and beliefs. I was also moved by the work of the Carter Center and all that the Carters have accomplished since his presidency. I learned a lot and will probably go back to catch what I missed including the gardens.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Carter Library & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy Carter Library & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing