We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected More”
Review of W Atlanta Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Atlanta Midtown
Ranked #105 of 173 Hotels in Atlanta
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expected More”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I've always heard how nice W hotels were, but this one was a disappointment. The location is great with lots of good restaurants in the area to walk to, but as far as the actual hotel, I expected more. Other reviews are absolutely correct when they say that sound is an issue. I could clearly hear every conversation going on in the hallways even though the people were not standing outside my door. We could even hear the elevator bells, though our room was five rooms away from the elevator waiting area. The rooms are very poorly lit making dressing quite challenging. The one good thing I can say is that the beds were very comfortable and had nice pillows and linens. However, I was not able to sleep well because of all the noise from the hallway and surrounding rooms. I don't think I would choose this hotel again if staying in the same area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YellowRose56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hello YellowRose56.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and informative review. Obviously, we are extremely dissapointed to hear your experience went this way. We would love to respond to you personally in the hopes of rectifying your experience. Please email us directly at- GMWatlanta.Midtown@WHotels.com so we may try to properly assist you. We look forward to hearing from you.
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    444
    293
    201
    120
See reviews for
121
273
113
624
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Beds are great, room comfortable, great views, service in the bar poor. We sat down and waited and waited and waited. We got up and moved inside hoping someone would serve us....a large group of Asian girls sat where we had just been and the server greeted them as they were sitting! The service inside wasn't great either...took forever for them to get us a drink when a different server came over and then they (hadn't filled the cooler yet) so we had to order something else.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammynTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hello TammynTroy.
Thank you for your feedback. We hope you will give us a chance to be more of a "hit" in our Living Room Bar and Patio the next time you visit. We look forward to seeing you again!.
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I just had an unforgettable night at this hotel thanks to Byron the Insider. He helped my boyfriend setup an amazing evening full of surprises, I did not see it coming. Byron definitely went above and beyond!! Michael and Brittany were also great and very welcoming through the Check-in process. Well done!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenyaV2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hello KenyaV2014.
Thank you for the awesome feedback! We love our team here and our glad you enjoyed them as well. Look forward to seeing you soon! And Happy Belated Birthday.
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Location was good. The hotel itself modern-ish, with cool interior design.
Really enjoyed the restaurant for both food and service. Excellent! and a great team!

Check- in was quick and easy (I booked via internet sites). The room design was modern and it looked clean in a very poor lighting, it almost seemed that they light it so that the guests wont be able to spot anything. The bucket in the toilet was not clean and did not get cleaned the next day... . It was only emptied, maybe that is what cleaning is about.

The noise that you can hear from your neighbours is incredible. And it was on Thursday and Friday.

Breakfast is poor, can get hardly any service. Plus it is served in what was the nightclub or bar the night before and there is only one girl who is trying to sort everybody's breaky. It was not a great breakfast that is a must in hotels of this range and claim.

We were busy so didn't have time to try out everything but this is the general feeling of this place that we got out of 2 nights in Atlanta.
Hope it helps

Room Tip: higher floors would have better views and less street noise, I suppose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivacita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hello Vivacita.
Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments. We would love to speak to you in more detail as we are always looking to improve and make things better for our hotel guests. Please email us at GM@Watlantamidtown.com. We look forward to hearing from you.
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Give a choice in hotels I always pick a W if available, never disappointed until now.
This hotel has serious sound problems. The walls are tacky motel thin, it is like your neighbors are right in your room. Doors slam and your whole room shakes.
I would never stay here again.
Number one rule of a hotel is a good nights sleep, impossible here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hello James M.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do hate your experience wasn't a perfect one and have shared your comments with our team members. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you are back in Atlanta. GMWAtlanta.Midtown@WHotels.com. We would love to have stay with us again.
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

May 22, 2014 My husband an I spent the one night at the W Midtown. Uoon arriving we pulled up to the front door and was met by several bell staff. They asked did we want our luggage carried to the our rooms and the answer was no. We were also asked was the keys in the car and we answered yes they gave us a ticket and we left to check. Couple of days later I notice on my account i was charged $32.00. I called the office to find out what this charged was and at that time she said for parking. I told her I was unaware of a parking fee of 32.00 because I had tip very well. She then said she would ask for a refund and she would call me back within 24 hours. Well that was not so, so I called her to be told this will not be refunded. I think this is a bunch of crap. They need bigger signs to display valet parking is $32.00. No please at all!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babydoll2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hello BabyDoll2014.
I appreciate you taking the time to send your review. However, I hate to hear your stay was one not up to both of our expectations. When you have a moment, would you please email me so we can discuss your stay and make this right for you? GMWAtlanta.Midtown@whotels.com. Thank you again for your review; I hope to speak with you soon.
Sincerely,
Kelly Snyder, Hotel Manager
W Atlanta - Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel was nestled in Atlanta Midtown and was everything I expected. On the weekends I guess their night life turns up a bit. I checked in late on Saturday evening and boy was it packed. The front desk is quite small and looked more like a hostess stand than a check in desk. The room was clean and spotless. Place was simple and good. Didn't expect anything more or less. The pictures do justice to what you get. Nothing mind blowing here but, its a nice place to sleep and lay to rest. Service is great but, like i said nothing out of the ordinary.

Room Tip: Higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAtlantaMidtownGM, General Manager at W Atlanta Midtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hello Kevin L.
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay. We hope to see you again.
All the best,
W Atlanta-Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atlanta hotels
W Atlanta Downtown
#57 of 173 in Atlanta
1,034 reviews
Midtown
Loews Atlanta Hotel
Loews Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 173 in Atlanta
2,108 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
Hyatt Atlanta Midtown
#55 of 173 in Atlanta
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Atlanta
Midtown
Atlanta Marriott Suites Midtown
W Atlanta - Buckhead
#70 of 173 in Atlanta
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Atlanta Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Atlanta Midtown

Property: W Atlanta Midtown
Address: 188 14th Street at Peachtree, Atlanta, GA 30361
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Atlanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Atlanta
#29 Luxury Hotel in Atlanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Atlanta Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Atlanta Midtown Hotel offers the coolest stay in the heart of Atlanta's hottest neighborhood, conveniently located near the Fox Theater, Piedmont Park, and some of the chicest clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Atlanta Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Atlanta Midtown Hotel Atlanta
w Hotels Atlanta
w Hotel Atlanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing